Search Results: "Grady Hendrix"


BOOK REVIEW

MY BEST FRIEND'S EXORCISM by Grady Hendrix
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 17, 2016

"Certainly not for all readers, but anyone interested in seeing William Peter Blatty's infamous The Exorcist (1971) by way of Heathers shouldn't miss it."
The wonder of friendship proves to be stronger than the power of Christ when an ancient demon possesses a teenage girl. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HORRORSTÖR by Grady Hendrix
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 23, 2014

"A treat for fans of The Evil Dead or Zombieland, complete with affordable solutions for better living.
"
A hardy band of big-box retail employees must dig down for their personal courage when ghosts begin stalking them through home furnishings. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JIMI HENDRIX by Harry Shapiro
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 22, 1991

"You'll dig out the four albums Hendrix made before dying—and again find him a crackling wizard. (For a more musiculturally oriented view of Hendrix's life, see Charles Murray's Crosstown Traffic, 1990.) (Seventy-five b&w photographs, 16 pp. of color photographs—not seen.)"
Definitive biography of the giant of the electric guitar, who died in 1970 at age 27. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JIMI HENDRIX by Leon Hendrix
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 8, 2012

"Though it reads like the author's effort to write himself back into the official history of his famous sibling, this memoir provides some insight into the background of a musical icon."
The guitar legend's kid brother delivers a candid memoir of the Jimi Hendrix only he knew. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WHITE GLOVE WAR by Katie Crouch
YOUNG ADULT
Released: July 3, 2012

"Though lighter on the romance, this creepy, cliffhanging thrill ride will still delight Magnolia League fans and leave them desperate for the next episode. (Supernatural thriller. 12 & up)"
In the second installment of the Magnolia League series, the stakes are higher, the drama more palpable and the hoodoo even hairier. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JIMI HENDRIX TURNS EIGHTY by Tim Sandlin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 16, 2007

"Sandlin's seventh novel (after Honey Don't, not reviewed) has some lively flourishes, but the one-note humor quickly palls."
Ancient hippies, defying mortality, rise up against the administrators of their retirement community in this near-future black comedy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JOHN BROWN by John Hendrix
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Oct. 1, 2009

"Not a story for the younger set, but an important view of one of the most controversial men in American history. (author's note, sources, index) (Informational picture book. 8-12)"
John Brown, with a makeshift flag in one hand and a tiny African-American tot cradled in the other, stands heroically on the jacket of this handsome picture-book biography. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHOOTING AT THE STARS by John Hendrix
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 7, 2014

"Timed with the centenary of World War I but a lesson for always, Hendrix's tale pulls young readers close and shows the human side of war. (introduction, glossary, bibliography, index) (Picture book. 7-12)"
A fictionalized account—based on letters from and interviews with actual soldiers—of the holiday cease-fire during World War I. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LOST COLONY: BOOK 3 by Grady Klein
GRAPHIC NOVELS & COMIC BOOKS
Released: Oct. 1, 2008

"Visually engaging, but otherwise an utter mess."
An absurdly whimsical graphic novel devised with more style than substance. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 15, 2006

"They will also leave readers profoundly affected by not only the dangers of these often-unpredictable potential pandemics, but by the complex challenges facing medical professionals who fight to understand and contain them. (source notes, Internet resources, further reading) (Nonfiction. 11-13)"
Grady, author of a number of New York Times articles on the topic, describes in personal, sometimes-heartrending detail her 2005 visit to Angola to cover the outbreak of Marburg fever there. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RIVER OF DARKNESS by James Grady
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 16, 1991

"A brooding, ambitious, and rather long wrap-up of everything awful in the American spy business."
The secret war in Laos, the Kurds, the cold war, the drug war, Watergate, and Iran-contra are among the submerged stumps and sand bars here through which paddle sundry good and evil employees of the American intelligence industry. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHITE FLAME by James Grady
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 1, 1996

"Grady has created a protagonist who lingers in the mind long after the last shot is fired. (Film rights to Tristar; $200,000 ad/promo; author tour)"
By the author of River of Darkness (1991), among several others, a so-so Washington thriller whose best scenes, though, rise to memorable heights. Read full book review >