Search Results: "Grady McFerrin"


BOOK REVIEW

ORCHARDS by Holly Thompson
FICTION
Released: Feb. 22, 2011

"Nevertheless, this first young adult outing is a fast-paced page-turner that explores the rippling effects of suicide. (Fiction. 12 & up)"
After a friend hangs herself, biracial 14-year-old Kana Golberg is shipped out to her family in Japan to work in the sweltering heat tending to their mikan orange groves. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY BEST FRIEND'S EXORCISM by Grady Hendrix
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 17, 2016

"Certainly not for all readers, but anyone interested in seeing William Peter Blatty's infamous The Exorcist (1971) by way of Heathers shouldn't miss it."
The wonder of friendship proves to be stronger than the power of Christ when an ancient demon possesses a teenage girl. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHITE FLAME by James Grady
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 1, 1996

"Grady has created a protagonist who lingers in the mind long after the last shot is fired. (Film rights to Tristar; $200,000 ad/promo; author tour)"
By the author of River of Darkness (1991), among several others, a so-so Washington thriller whose best scenes, though, rise to memorable heights. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: May 1, 2006

"An unusual take on American history and colonial experience, Klein's first graphic novel, while aspirant, may not hold wide audience appeal. (Graphic novel. YA)"
In this brightly colored and busily illustrated graphic novel, Klein introduces young Bertha "Birdy" Snodgrass. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 1995

"But it is highly recommended for medical ethicists and anyone concerned about the AIDS epidemic and how HIV research is conducted."
Painstaking analysis of the knotty ethical problems involved in human-subjects research, and a well-thought-out proposal for a community approach to conducting field trials for an HIV vaccine. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LAST DAYS OF THE CONDOR by James Grady
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 17, 2015

"Grady's anti-heroic spy returns in fine form in an up-to-the-minute novel to which the author, a former Washington investigator, brings plenty of insider knowledge."
Having captured the spy culture of the paranoid Cold War era in his 1974 novel Six Days of the Condor (filmed as Three Days of the Condor with Robert Redford), Grady now depicts the convoluted, cutthroat state of intelligence in the post-9/11 world.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HORRORSTÖR by Grady Hendrix
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 23, 2014

"A treat for fans of The Evil Dead or Zombieland, complete with affordable solutions for better living.
"
A hardy band of big-box retail employees must dig down for their personal courage when ghosts begin stalking them through home furnishings. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Feb. 15, 2012

"A powerful grouping of thought-provoking poems and brilliantly designed paintings. (author's note, illustrator's note, bibliography) (Poetry. 10 & up)"
Enslaved African-Americans voice the weariness, drudgery, agony and dreams of their lives in a beautiful and informative collection of poetry and paintings. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BEOTHUK SAGA by Bernard Assiniwi
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 18, 2002

"Tragic pages that drink you in, and far from fantasy."
A farewell work and anthropological classic by the late Dr. Assiniwi, a member of the Cree nation and famed in Canada for studies of its native peoples and for the monumental Histoire des Indiens du Haut et du Bas Canada (1974). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WHITE GLOVE WAR by Katie Crouch
YOUNG ADULT
Released: July 3, 2012

"Though lighter on the romance, this creepy, cliffhanging thrill ride will still delight Magnolia League fans and leave them desperate for the next episode. (Supernatural thriller. 12 & up)"
In the second installment of the Magnolia League series, the stakes are higher, the drama more palpable and the hoodoo even hairier. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIKE A BIRD by Cynthia Grady
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"An important work that gives new life to old and important songs. (Informational picture book. 5-10)"
When children see Harriet Tubman on the new U.S. postage stamp, they can learn of her legacy from this literary homage to "the Moses of her people." Read full book review >