Search Results: "Graham Marks"


BOOK REVIEW

ZOO by Graham Marks
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 2005

"The tone and quality are consistent throughout, and a contemporary edge provides extra panache. (Fiction. YA)"
Kidnapped outside his home in San Diego, Cam awakens in Seattle confused and frightened. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MISSING IN TOKYO by Graham Marks
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: May 1, 2006

"So what do you call chick-lit for boys? (Fiction. YA)"
Adam's older sister Charlotte—Charlie—is on an around-the-world trip with her best buddy Alice when Alice calls to say that Charlie's been kidnapped in Tokyo. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OMEGA PLACE by Graham Marks
FICTION
Released: Nov. 1, 2007

"A good read, and highly recommended. (Fiction. YA)"
Paul Hendry walks out one night after a row with his new stepfather. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLOOD MARKS by Bill Crider
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 18, 1991

"Not for gentle tastes, but a striking addition to the serial- killer subgenre—gory, repugnant, and gripping to its last ugly reverberation."
Crider, author of two so-so series (Evil at the Root, Dying Voices, etc.), takes a totally different tack in this gritty story of a serial killer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: June 1, 1995

"Despite Shelden's relentless animus for Greene as a person and a writer, this propaganda campaign can neither surpass nor subvert the Greene legend. (16 pages b&w photos, not seen)"
Trying to hunt down the controversial, complex Greene (190491) as the Harry Lime of the literary racket, Shelden (Orwell, 1991, etc.) succeeds less in decoding the deceptions of Greene's life than in creating a trail of false leads. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIRTH MARKS by Sarah Dunant
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 13, 1992

"Thoughtful, tough-minded Hannah compares herself to every detective under the sun but P. D. James's Cordelia Gray, whose fans should welcome her with open arms."
When sometime private eye Hannah Wolfe is hired to track down Carolyn Hamilton, a missing ballet dancer, it doesn't take her long to find discrepancies between Carolyn's innocuous postcards to her guardian and her disappearance from London months ago. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BURN MARKS by Sara Paretsky
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: March 20, 1990

"Vic may still be lean and mean, but, here, her creator's style borders on the flabby."
Once again, Chicago's durable private-eye V.I. (Vicki) Warshawski is tangling with the forces of evil in her own hometown. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MASTERFUL MARKS by Monte Beauchamp
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 2, 2014

"There's always a hit-or-miss quality to such projects, and some question over the selections, but what's great here is really terrific."
Graphic biographies of 16 of the most influential cartoonists by some of the great cartoonists they influenced. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COLLECTIVE MARKS by Nancy N. Feldman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2014

"Honest, tough-minded and beautiful."
Learning to train horses in the precise, artful discipline of dressage, a troubled teenage boy gains self-understanding. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 14, 1973

"There is also an inductive introduction by Mr. Greene on how he now views the short story and on some of the curious circumstances in which a few of them were conceived."
Forty in all, representing a forty-year span, "a collection of escapes from the novelist's world" and combining those which appeared in May We Borrow Your Husband?, A Sense of Reality, Twenty-One Stories, as well as three which appear in book form for the first time. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MARKS OF BIRTH by Pablo Medina
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 1, 1994

"Lyrical and stylish, this is a fine example of magical realism in the vein of Rudolfo Anaya and Gabriel Garc°a M†rquez."
An evocative novel about the trials and triumphs of a Hispanic family, from a Cuban-born poet and essayist (Exiled Memories, not reviewed). Read full book review >