Search Results: "Grandpappy Joe"


BOOK REVIEW

Don't Forget the Baby by Grandpappy Joe
Released: Jan. 8, 2013

"A sweetly illustrated story about childhood anxiety and family ties."
Parents pack for a trip to Grandma and Grandpa's house in Weidler's (Ogs and the Oggie Joggie, 2011) children's picture book. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

MODERN MYTHOLOGY WITH JOE TODD-STANTON
by Julie Danielson

Debut author-illustrator Joe Todd-Stanton, who lives in the UK, brings readers the first in a new series called Brownstone’s Mythical Collection. Arthur and the Golden Rope—complete with a daring young protagonist; a monstrous, hand-chomping wolf; and “artefacts of great power and rarity”—is based on Norse mythology. This first volume of the series opens with a Professor Brownstone, welcoming readers ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CHRISTMAS COAL MAN by Joe Kulka
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"It's hard to dig up a new angle on Santa's cast of helpers, but the Coal Man is a nugget of originality. (Picture book. 4-7) "
A new helper for Santa is introduced as an elderly, elfin man who provides the lumps of coal for the stockings of naughty boys and girls. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT’S UNDER THE BED? by Joe Fenton
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: Sept. 2, 2008

"Is there something on the ground?' (Picture book. 3-7)"
It's nighttime, and Fred hears a noise. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VACATION'S OVER! by Joe Kulka
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

They're not extinct, after all—they've just been on an interstellar cruise for a few million years. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NEFFY AND THE FEATHERED DINOSAURS by Joe Lillington
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 11, 2016

"The art doesn't exactly soar, but younger readers may find these tidbits more digestible than the somewhat more technical anatomical details in Brenda Z. Guiberson and William Low's Feathered Dinosaurs (2016). (glossary, map) (Informational picture book. 7-9)"
A young microraptor meets several of her Cretaceous cousins on the way to learning how to use her own feathered limbs to glide. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PUDDING PROBLEM by Joe Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"Further reading for fans of Timmy Failure and Big Nate. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sam Lyttle has a little problem with the truth: even when he's telling it, it isn't totally true. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I BECOME SHADOW by Joe Shine
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 10, 2014

"Read it for the satisfying action, not the love story. (Science fiction/thriller. 14-18)"
A secret international organization gets more than it bargained for when it kidnaps 14-year-old Rennes "Ren" Sharpe. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SABOTAGE by Joe Craig
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 23, 2014

"Mostly harmless spy nonsense. (Thriller. 8-12)"
Kid assassin Jimmy Coates runs from a corrupt British government and navigates a world on the brink of war. Read full book review >