Search Results: "Grant Campbell"


BOOK REVIEW

Playing the Devil by Grant Campbell
Released: March 23, 2013

"Overly detailed, but offers interesting characters, plenty of excitement and the pleasure of seeing a complicated plan coalesce."
A respected surgeon and decorated Army veteran wrestles with ghosts from the past in this thriller. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

WILD THINGS
by Julie Danielson

Because children possess an inner wildness, children’s literature is full of wild creatures of all sorts and stripes. Two brand-new picture books on shelves, all about wildness, serve as the yin and yang of one another – one story about a tame creature finding wildness; another about a wild creature seeking security.

Michelle Cuevas’s Smoot: A Rebellious Shadow, illustrated by ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

WEE SISTER STRANGE by Holly Grant
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 5, 2017

"An enchanting bedtime tale to be read over and over again. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A young woodland child is on the hunt for a bedtime story in Grant and Campbell's debut collaboration. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE BIRD'S BAD WORD by Jacob Grant
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 21, 2015

"A charming, tender, and ever pertinent life lesson. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Little Bird loves to learn new words, especially when they are "big bird" words. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TWELVE DAYS OF CHRISTMAS by Leigh Grant
MUSIC AND THE ARTS
Released: Dec. 1, 1995

"Other versions of the song abound, but this may well supersede them all. (Picture book/folklore. 9+)"
An enlightening rendition of the holiday song, enhanced by generous historical notes and elaborate, festive illustrations. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HUG MACHINE by Scott Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 26, 2014

"In his first outing as an author, Campbell shines. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A feel-good ride, full of droll artistic asides and an abundance of caring. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY GOES TO CAMP by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 10, 2014

"Fans of the first will probably be disappointed; at best, it's a desperation read-alike for Big Nate or Wimpy Kid. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 9-12)"
Can Hal survive Camp Jamestown or will he becometh history? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY AND THE TIME CAPSULE by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 3, 2013

"A certain series starter (thankfully), given the promise of an interesting summer in the final pages. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Bad enough history class is so boring; now it's keeping Hal from getting his own room. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BLACK DIAMOND DETECTIVE AGENCY by Eddie Campbell
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 2007

"The veteran artist rises to a new challenge."
A visually stunning graphic narrative with all sorts of complicated plot twists. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MERMAID AND THE SHOE by K.G. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"Although this luminous tale of self-discovery has echoes of 'The Little Mermaid,' like Minnow, it sings its own strong song. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Unlike her talented older sisters, a little mermaid feels disappointingly ordinary until her curiosity unveils her special skills. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LESTER'S DREADFUL SWEATERS by K.G. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2012

"Children forced to wear horrid clothing made by well-meaning relatives will laugh in sympathy with Lester. If Edward Gorey and Polly Horvath had a literary love child, this would be it. (Picture book. 5-9)"
Cousin Clara, who may or may not be related to the rest of the family, knits horrid sweaters at a breakneck speed. Read full book review >