Search Results: "Greg Campbell"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: June 1, 2012

"Rigorous analysis buoyed by a deep sense of humanity."
A journalist turned "ganjapreneur" examines America's schizophrenic attitude toward marijuana. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 1, 2002

"Readers of Campbell's horrific tale—from killing fields to corporate boardrooms and all the seedy, murderous, and pathetic characters that fall between—who don't demand proof-of-source on any diamond purchase ought to have their ethics examined. (10 b&w photographs)"
The sorry role the diamond has played in the history of Sierra Leone, stunningly told by journalist Campbell (The Road to Kosovo, 1999). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 2, 2010

"Sure to appeal to armchair rogues and, like Blood Diamond, cinema-ready."
Exciting, well-crafted tale of the "School of Turin," a gang of master thieves who looted the putatively theft-proof Antwerp Diamond Center. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

GREG PIZZOLI
by Megan Labrise

As a young reader, Greg Pizzoli found illustrated history books too sanitized and sententious.

“Nobody wants to hear that story of George Washington chopping down the cherry tree and how he was good all the time,” says Pizzoli, author-illustrator of The Quest for Z: The True Story of Explorer Percy Fawcett and a Lost City in the Amazon. “Whatever ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

HUG MACHINE by Scott Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 26, 2014

"In his first outing as an author, Campbell shines. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A feel-good ride, full of droll artistic asides and an abundance of caring. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MERMAID AND THE SHOE by K.G. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"Although this luminous tale of self-discovery has echoes of 'The Little Mermaid,' like Minnow, it sings its own strong song. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Unlike her talented older sisters, a little mermaid feels disappointingly ordinary until her curiosity unveils her special skills. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY GOES TO CAMP by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 10, 2014

"Fans of the first will probably be disappointed; at best, it's a desperation read-alike for Big Nate or Wimpy Kid. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 9-12)"
Can Hal survive Camp Jamestown or will he becometh history? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY AND THE TIME CAPSULE by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 3, 2013

"A certain series starter (thankfully), given the promise of an interesting summer in the final pages. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Bad enough history class is so boring; now it's keeping Hal from getting his own room. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BLACK DIAMOND DETECTIVE AGENCY by Eddie Campbell
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 2007

"The veteran artist rises to a new challenge."
A visually stunning graphic narrative with all sorts of complicated plot twists. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LESTER'S DREADFUL SWEATERS by K.G. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2012

"Children forced to wear horrid clothing made by well-meaning relatives will laugh in sympathy with Lester. If Edward Gorey and Polly Horvath had a literary love child, this would be it. (Picture book. 5-9)"
Cousin Clara, who may or may not be related to the rest of the family, knits horrid sweaters at a breakneck speed. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WATER BABY by Ross Campbell
FRIENDS AND SCHOOL
Released: June 24, 2008

"Trying to be edgy with its no-holds-barred dialogue, this latest offering in the Minx line misses the mark and comes off as crude and at times, offensive. (Graphic novel. YA)"
Writer and artist Campbell introduces Brody, a rude surfer chick with a bad attitude who lives and plays by her own rules. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DYLAN THE VILLAIN by K.G. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 23, 2016

"Dylan may have his flaws, but he does his name proud. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Dylan Snivels wants to make a name for himself. Read full book review >