Search Results: "Gustaf Berger"


BOOK REVIEW

DEATH POSTPONED by Gustaf Berger
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 27, 2017

"An often entertaining mystery with a satisfying ending despite a few too many subplots."
In Berger's debut novel, a human-interest journalist for a small New York City weekly finds herself unexpectedly investigating a 14-year-old insurance scam related to the World Trade Center attacks. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FLY-TRUFFLER by Gustaf Sobin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2000

"Not for literalists, but a symbolic-emotional tale that immerses the reader into the very air, feel, and texture of ancient Provenáe—and as a bonus serves up a fascinating handbook on the life and harvesting of the enigmatic truffle."
Poet and novelist Sobin (Venus Blue, 1992) offers up a strange and serious love-tale imbued by the surreal—with results hardly less compelling for that. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VENUS BLUE by Gustaf Sobin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 10, 1992

"No human person is credible—only Sobin's vocabulary and stuffy rhetoric."
A Forties screenwriter—the rich and childless and elegant and ever-so-literary Millicent Rappaport—becomes obsessed with a shadowy film star, Molly Lamanna, and keeps a journal of her obsession. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HATS OFF FOR THE FOURTH OF JULY! by Harriet Ziefert
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2000

"Hats off indeed to this splendid parade of a book. (Picture book. 2-5)"
The business of a parade is to march along with style and zip and knock the socks off those who watch. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IN PURSUIT OF A VANISHING STAR by Gustaf Sobin
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 1, 2001

"Idolaters will enjoy glimpses of the star and Sobin's suitable lushness of word and image, while others may wish for a breath of fresh air."
As in The Fly-Truffler (2000), Sobin follows a character striving obsessively—against time and age—to find or capture some essence in his life before it's too late. This time around, though, contrivance outweighs the compelling. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PUDDING PROBLEM by Joe Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"Further reading for fans of Timmy Failure and Big Nate. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)"
Sam Lyttle has a little problem with the truth: even when he's telling it, it isn't totally true. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRIDGET FIDGET AND THE MOST PERFECT PET!  by Joe Berger
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2009

"Familiar waters, sure, but it's the rare child who doesn't dream of having his or her very own Thunderhooves. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Bridget Fidget desperately wants a pet unicorn to name Thunderhooves, so when a giant box arrives downstairs marked "Fragile" (or, as she imagines, "Here's your new pet!") she dives right in, spreading Styrofoam pellets ("snow") all over the house. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOOD NIGHT! GOOD NIGHT! by Carin Berger
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 3, 2017

"Young readers will giggle over the bedtime jollity, while parents may recognize the familiar bedtime battle and see themselves in the mother rabbit whose love and patience prevail.(Picture book. 3-7)"
Three mischievous bunnies finally fall asleep in this playful look at the bedtime routine. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 16, 1991

"An uncommonly useful book that should be a godsend to any family have a member afflicted with manic depression."
A harrowing account of manic depression, plus information about the disease, by Diane Berger, mother of a manic-depressive son, and Lisa Berger, her sister and a free-lance writer (Parade, Vogue, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BENTO'S SKETCHBOOK by John Berger
NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 8, 2011

"Berger's readers will see with fresh eyes."
A deceptively brief volume offers profound meditations on art, the creative process and so much more. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ADVENTURES OF THE ARTIFICIAL WOMAN by Thomas Berger
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2004

"Still, who wouldn't pay to hear Sinatra with the sniffles? It is Berger, and it's essential reading."
Berger's deliciously deadpan 23rd reworks the vein of satiric fantasy prominently displayed in such predecessors as Vital Parts (1970) and Regiment of Women (1973). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PHOTOCOPIES by John Berger
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 16, 1996

"With so clear a focus on death and detachment, it's hard not to see this collection as a sort of letting go—though not, one hopes, a cap on the career of so keen an observer and grandly gifted a writer."
Featherlight touches and resonant phrasing have been Berger's stock in trade through his extensive career as novelist and critic (To the Wedding, 1995, etc.). Read full book review >