Search Results: "Hampton Fancher"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 13, 2012

"Fancher's writing is long on whimsy but short on humor."
Bizarre stories, some bordering on the absurd and others going over the border. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Ghost Hampton by Ken McGorry
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 26, 2016

"A powerful tale about family, forgiveness, and, ultimately, salvation."
In McGorry's Hamptons-based debut mystery, the first in a trilogy, an unlikable lawyer attempts to save a crumbling Victorian house, rumored to be a haunted former brothel, after experiencing deeply troubling visions. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEATH HAMPTON by Walter Marks
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 27, 2014

"A fast-paced mystery with plenty of action and colorful characters, hampered by a few unlikely coincidences."
In Marks' (Dangerous Behavior, 2014, etc.) latest thriller, a detective investigates a wealthy real estate developer's disappearance, and uncovers a mystery involving the man's wife and a mysterious hit man. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HAMPTON CONNECTION by Vincent Lardo
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 21, 2001

"Talk about something for everyone."
One year after the East Hampton Town Police were closing in on him and his foster father, hard-pressed commercial fisherman Job Ryan, for seagoing pickups of mysterious packages on behalf of even more mysterious clients, Bill Ryan seems to have recovered nicely. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HAMPTON AFFAIR by Vincent Lardo
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 24, 1999

"Lardo writes respectably, but his plotlines get tangled, his characters are mostly noxious, and who'd ever want to go near his Hamptons?"
A debut mystery, set in the Hamptons, in which the very rich and the very poor are seen as mutually explosive. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 1, 2009

"A still-chilling tale of law-enforcement misconduct."
An earnest attorney looks back at a notorious 1960s slaying. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KALE TO THE QUEEN by Nell Hampton
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 11, 2017

"A charming debut foodie cozy with a gutsy heroine, a neat little mystery, and the requisite appended recipes."
A chef's dream job may be the death of her. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FLIGHT by Dan Hampton
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 16, 2017

"A celebration of a heroic feat sure to interest fans of aviation history."
A historic flight recounted in vivid detail. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 15, 2001

"Far more worthy than the celebrity-driven narratives of recent seasons, this is an exceptionally valuable addition to the popular literature surrounding WWII."
An extraordinary tale of bravery under fire and the will to endure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 12, 1994

"Exciting and fair-minded: the definitive account of a dark hour in American history. (Sixteen pages of b&w photographs—not seen)"
A comprehensive, meticulously researched history of the 1877 war between the Nez Perce and the US government. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 2, 2015

"A fast-paced Vietnam War story that cheekily employs the pilots' vernacular as well as plenty of technological terminology."
Weapon wizardry and exciting, in-the-moment pilots' accounts comprise this homage to the group of first trackers of the pesky surface-to-air missiles during the Vietnam War. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 5, 2014

"A grand and grim narrative of thrilling exploration for fans of Into Thin Air, Mountains of the Moon and the like."
Another crackling tale of adventure from journalist/explorer Sides (Hellhound on His Trail: The Stalking of Martin Luther King, Jr. and the International Hunt for His Assassin, 2010, etc.), this one focusing on a frigid disaster nearly 150 years ago. Read full book review >