Search Results: "Hampton Fancher"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 13, 2012

"Fancher's writing is long on whimsy but short on humor."
Bizarre stories, some bordering on the absurd and others going over the border. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KALE TO THE QUEEN by Nell Hampton
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 11, 2017

"A charming debut foodie cozy with a gutsy heroine, a neat little mystery, and the requisite appended recipes."
A chef's dream job may be the death of her. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UP CLOSE: BABE RUTH by Wilborn Hampton
BIOGRAPHY
Released: March 19, 2009

"The 'big, moon-shaped, snub-nosed face' of Babe Ruth will forever be a part of baseball lore, and this work does credit to the player of legend. (foreword, bibliography, index) (Biography. 10 & up)"
Celebrating his subject as "the greatest player ever to step on a baseball diamond," Hampton ably reports the "comic opera [and] grand drama" that was the career of George Herman Ruth. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 22, 1992

"As such, a joy. (B&w photos—not seen.)"
A vastly enjoyable excursion into American obsessions. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Sex, Suicide and Serotonin by Debbie Hampton
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 9, 2016

"This earnest memoir about healing sometimes meanders but eventually finds its voice."
A divorced mother attempts suicide and suffers a brain injury in this debut book about trauma and recovery. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FRIENDS AND SCHOOL
Released: Sept. 1, 2007

"A good match with Ibtisam Barakat's Tasting the Sky: A Palestinian Childhood (2007). (bibliography, index) (Nonfiction. 10+)"
In his 40 as a journalist, Hampton says, there has not been a single week without some story from the Middle East. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE RED by Dina Hampton
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 12, 2013

"A capable and compelling memoir of the '60s and its varied political legacies as reflected in the lives of three survivors."
Parallel biographies of three notorious 1960s graduates of a left-wing New York high school. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A TOUCH OF NERVES by D.C. Hampton
Released: Dec. 5, 2012

"A conceivable threat and suspense-filled plot keep readers engaged until the end."
An Army captain struggles to make sense of an impending terrorist plot on U.S. soil while battling Washington bureaucracy in Hampton's well-researched thriller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 2, 2015

"A fast-paced Vietnam War story that cheekily employs the pilots' vernacular as well as plenty of technological terminology."
Weapon wizardry and exciting, in-the-moment pilots' accounts comprise this homage to the group of first trackers of the pesky surface-to-air missiles during the Vietnam War. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 5, 2014

"A grand and grim narrative of thrilling exploration for fans of Into Thin Air, Mountains of the Moon and the like."
Another crackling tale of adventure from journalist/explorer Sides (Hellhound on His Trail: The Stalking of Martin Luther King, Jr. and the International Hunt for His Assassin, 2010, etc.), this one focusing on a frigid disaster nearly 150 years ago. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 12, 1994

"Exciting and fair-minded: the definitive account of a dark hour in American history. (Sixteen pages of b&w photographs—not seen)"
A comprehensive, meticulously researched history of the 1877 war between the Nez Perce and the US government. Read full book review >