Search Results: "Hampton Sides"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 22, 1992

"As such, a joy. (B&w photos—not seen.)"
A vastly enjoyable excursion into American obsessions. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 15, 2001

"Far more worthy than the celebrity-driven narratives of recent seasons, this is an exceptionally valuable addition to the popular literature surrounding WWII."
An extraordinary tale of bravery under fire and the will to endure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 5, 2014

"A grand and grim narrative of thrilling exploration for fans of Into Thin Air, Mountains of the Moon and the like."
Another crackling tale of adventure from journalist/explorer Sides (Hellhound on His Trail: The Stalking of Martin Luther King, Jr. and the International Hunt for His Assassin, 2010, etc.), this one focusing on a frigid disaster nearly 150 years ago. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 27, 2010

"An expertly written study in true crime, vividly recapturing the mood of 1968."
From veteran journalist and historian Sides (Blood and Thunder, 2006, etc.), a riveting account of James Earl Ray's long quest to kill Martin Luther King Jr. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLOOD AND THUNDER by Hampton Sides
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 3, 2006

"Popular history in the Alvin Josephy vein. Sides works material well-known to historians, but less so to general readers, into an unchallenging but informative narrative."
Kit Carson versus the Indians—and everyone against everyone else in the Hobbesian world of the newly conquered American West. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 3, 1995

"A well-rounded endeavor to help round off meals."
Restaurant owner and chef Phillips (Working a Duck, not reviewed) brings together old favorites and newfangled inventions in this very polished and helpful volume. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Ghost Hampton by Ken McGorry
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 26, 2016

"A powerful tale about family, forgiveness, and, ultimately, salvation."
In McGorry's Hamptons-based debut mystery, the first in a trilogy, an unlikable lawyer attempts to save a crumbling Victorian house, rumored to be a haunted former brothel, after experiencing deeply troubling visions. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEATH HAMPTON by Walter Marks
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 27, 2014

"A fast-paced mystery with plenty of action and colorful characters, hampered by a few unlikely coincidences."
In Marks' (Dangerous Behavior, 2014, etc.) latest thriller, a detective investigates a wealthy real estate developer's disappearance, and uncovers a mystery involving the man's wife and a mysterious hit man. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TAKING SIDES by Gary Soto
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 1991

"Nonetheless, a fine, useful contribution. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Lincoln Mendoza, 12, has felt in limbo ever since moving from San Francisco's Mission District barrio to neat, tree-lined Sycamore—a feeling exacerbated by a game his basketball team is going to play against his former team. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOTH SIDES NOW by Ruth Pennebaker
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: June 1, 2000

"This is a subtle, absorbing examination of a girl's difficult passage into maturity through the voice of one of the truest narrators in the genre. (Fiction. 12+)"
In this thoughtful, affecting, and often funny story, Pennebaker (Conditions of Love, 1992, etc.) looks at life through the eyes of a naïve girl learning to balance life as her mother struggles with breast cancer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALTERNATE SIDES by Marissa Piesman
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Aug. 1, 1995

"Yuppies at play, in what feels like a weeklong lunch at a kosher deli."
Such a problem: Should Legal Service lawyer Nina Fischman keep her place in the West 70s or move in with ad exec Jonathan Harris all the way over in the East 80s? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HAMPTON CONNECTION by Vincent Lardo
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 21, 2001

"Talk about something for everyone."
One year after the East Hampton Town Police were closing in on him and his foster father, hard-pressed commercial fisherman Job Ryan, for seagoing pickups of mysterious packages on behalf of even more mysterious clients, Bill Ryan seems to have recovered nicely. Read full book review >