Search Results: "Hampton Sides"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 22, 1992

"As such, a joy. (B&w photos—not seen.)"
A vastly enjoyable excursion into American obsessions. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLOOD AND THUNDER by Hampton Sides
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 3, 2006

"Popular history in the Alvin Josephy vein. Sides works material well-known to historians, but less so to general readers, into an unchallenging but informative narrative."
Kit Carson versus the Indians—and everyone against everyone else in the Hobbesian world of the newly conquered American West. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 15, 2001

"Far more worthy than the celebrity-driven narratives of recent seasons, this is an exceptionally valuable addition to the popular literature surrounding WWII."
An extraordinary tale of bravery under fire and the will to endure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 5, 2014

"A grand and grim narrative of thrilling exploration for fans of Into Thin Air, Mountains of the Moon and the like."
Another crackling tale of adventure from journalist/explorer Sides (Hellhound on His Trail: The Stalking of Martin Luther King, Jr. and the International Hunt for His Assassin, 2010, etc.), this one focusing on a frigid disaster nearly 150 years ago. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 27, 2010

"An expertly written study in true crime, vividly recapturing the mood of 1968."
From veteran journalist and historian Sides (Blood and Thunder, 2006, etc.), a riveting account of James Earl Ray's long quest to kill Martin Luther King Jr. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GENIUS OF AFFECTION by Marilyn Sides
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 11, 1999

"No 'rag-and-bone shop of the heart' in sight, just page after page of plastic, politically correct 'feelings.'"
A cloying first novel, from the author ofThe Island of the Mapmaker's Wife (stories: 1996), about a 40-year-old academic who, unable to find the right man, wants a house and a baby. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ISLAND OF THE MAPMAKER'S WIFE by Marilyn Sides
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 1996

"A gifted writer, but hard going."
An unfulfilling first collection containing a short story and four heavily detailed but quirky novellas, by O. Henry Prize winner and Kenyon Review contributor Sides. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KALE TO THE QUEEN by Nell Hampton
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 11, 2017

"A charming debut foodie cozy with a gutsy heroine, a neat little mystery, and the requisite appended recipes."
A chef's dream job may be the death of her. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UP CLOSE: BABE RUTH by Wilborn Hampton
BIOGRAPHY
Released: March 19, 2009

"The 'big, moon-shaped, snub-nosed face' of Babe Ruth will forever be a part of baseball lore, and this work does credit to the player of legend. (foreword, bibliography, index) (Biography. 10 & up)"
Celebrating his subject as "the greatest player ever to step on a baseball diamond," Hampton ably reports the "comic opera [and] grand drama" that was the career of George Herman Ruth. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Sex, Suicide and Serotonin by Debbie Hampton
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 9, 2016

"This earnest memoir about healing sometimes meanders but eventually finds its voice."
A divorced mother attempts suicide and suffers a brain injury in this debut book about trauma and recovery. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 13, 2012

"Fancher's writing is long on whimsy but short on humor."
Bizarre stories, some bordering on the absurd and others going over the border. Read full book review >