Search Results: "Hannah Holmes"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 27, 2009

"Careful science meets good writing—a pleasure for fans of Lewis Thomas, Natalie Angier and other interpreters of scientific fact."
A pellucid spin through the contours of the human brain and the folds of the human body. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 1, 2001

"Holmes is a science writer to watch. Who ever thought dust could so shine?"
Dust. It's a blessing and a curse—and it gets the undivided, brightly humorous yet astute attention of Discovery Channel Online science writer Holmes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 22, 2011

"An intriguing but hardly groundbreaking consideration of the qualities that distinguish us."
Holmes (The Well-Dressed Ape: A Natural History of Myself, 2009, etc.) delves into the diversity of human personalities. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SUBURBAN SAFARI by Hannah Holmes
NON-FICTION
Released: March 1, 2005

"A cracking good reminder that an appreciation of the wonders of nature need not be reserved for special occasions."
With infectious enthusiasm and faith in nature's doggedness in the face of encroaching humanity, science writer Holmes (The Secret Life of Dust, 2001) follows the four seasons as they play out in her own micro-habitat. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PALINDROME HANNAH by Michael Bailey
Released: Oct. 17, 2011

"Ignoring part six, Bailey's book will remind readers of human connectivity, while it frightens and entertains."
A creative effort takes horror to new heights in well-paced, semi-interconnected stories. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HANGING HANNAH by Evan Marshall
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 1, 2000

"Miss Marple lite."
``The Miss Marple of Shady Hill, New Jersey,'' a popular magazine dubbed her when she solved the case of the murdered nanny (Missing Marlene, 1999). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Playing Hannah by Eric Beauregard
Released: June 28, 2016

"A performance starring a complex heroine that's not quite worthy of an encore, but good enough to see through to the end."
A teenage girl finds herself by playing other characters in this debut YA novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HANNAH ARENDT by Julia Kristeva
NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 1, 2001

"Not a volume to be picked up lightly, unless you enjoy tussling with sentences heavily laden with philosophical jargon and esoterica—but Kristeva fans are a diehard and hardy bunch, and they'll find plenty to be excited about here."
Intellectual all-star Kristeva (Possessions, 1998) offers this study of Arendt as the first installment of her new trilogy on female genius (the next two will deal with Melanie Klein and Colette). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HIDING HANNAH by Mike  Johnson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 11, 2011

"Though it lacks anything in the way of extras or games, Hannah's little story is one worth seeking out. She's a charmer. (iPad storybook app. 2-6)"
A child's frustrating habit of hiding things (including herself) around the house is offset by the cuteness of the hider and the light, playful tone of this app. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HANNAH DUCK by Anji Yamamura
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2008

"The illustrations are handsomely crafted, but unfortunately, the text is rather stilted with a choppy flow that weakens the message. (Picture book. 4-6)"
Originally published in Japan, the wood engravings of this simple story adroitly create visual interest, but it lacks a strong narrative thread. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HANNAH COULTER by Wendell Berry
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 21, 2004

"Atmospheric and quietly moving: a tale that manages to avoid outright bathos as it makes its way along the narrow boundary between memoir and nostalgia."
A continuation of Berry's Port William, Kentucky, saga (Jayber Crow, 2000, etc.), this one told from the perspective of an elderly farmwife looking back on her life and world. Read full book review >