Search Results: "Hannah Shaw"


BOOK REVIEW

THE WORLD-FAMOUS CHEESE SHOP BREAK-IN by Sean Taylor
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 15, 2015

"When it comes to whiff, no substitute for The Stinky Cheese Man or Garrison Keillor and Anne Wilsdorf's Old Man Who Loved Cheese (1996) but gouda for a few chuckles. (Picture book. 6-8)"
A cheese shop makes an irresistible target for a bandit rat and his only slightly less avid offspring. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GREAT CAT CONSPIRACY by Katie Davies
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2012

"The subtle pathos that underlies the lighthearted humor throughout this series is prominent here; the astringent, sobering ending leaves readers with questions to ponder. (Fiction. 8-12)"
In their latest adventure, enterprising 9-year-olds Anna and Suzanne tackle dictatorship (parental veto on removing the walls separating their homes), animal disappearances (cats and the vicar's prized koi), clutter (Dad's) and hoarding (the Cat Lady's). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GREAT DOG DISASTER by Katie Davies
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 7, 2013

"Characteristically funny, this concludes a British series that has been a breath of fresh middle-grade air. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Intrepid 9-year-olds Anna and Suzanne tackle their latest pet challenge with customary ingenuity, elaborate plans and lists, and allies old (Mr. Tucker and Mrs. Rotherham) and young (Anna's cookie-loving brother, Tom). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GREAT HAMSTER MASSACRE by Katie Davies
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 3, 2011

"An auspicious debut, with a sequel (The Great Rabbit Rescue) waiting in the wings. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Fans of Ivy and Bean will enjoy meeting their counterparts across the Pond: best friends and next-door neighbors Anna and Suzanne. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GRIZZLY BEAR WITH THE FRIZZLY HAIR by Sean Taylor
ANIMALS
Released: Dec. 1, 2011

"Ultimately, amiable but undistinguished. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Can the clever rabbit stop the hungry bear from eating him? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SLEEP SHEEP by Anna McQuinn
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2010

"A pleasant romp, wry and sweet. (Picture book. 3-6)"
McQuinn and Shaw breathe new life into an old saw—counting sheep—by matching an imaginative, wide-awake little girl with a large flock of peripatetic sheep far too busy to be counted. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SCHOOL FOR BANDITS by Hannah Shaw
ANIMALS
Released: June 28, 2011

"Shaw has created a hero in Ralph for all those kids who don't fit in and aren't afraid to be who they are. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Good manners win out over bad in this hysterical spoof. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I DON'T BELIEVE IT, ARCHIE! by Andrew Norriss
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 13, 2012

"A winning American debut from this well-established winner of England's Whitbread Award. (Fiction.7-10)"
Some are born to mayhem (Ivy + Bean come to mind), some achieve mayhem (Dav Pilkey's George and Harold)—and then there's Archie. Whenever he walks out the door (usually on an errand for his long-suffering mother) mayhem awaits, ready to thrust itself upon him. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GREAT RABBIT RESCUE by Katie Davies
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 6, 2011

"A welcome return for the indomitable Anna. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Barely pausing from their labors, recounted in The Great Hamster Massacre (2011), Anna and Suzanne return to sow more mayhem. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CROCODILES ARE THE BEST ANIMALS OF ALL! by Sean Taylor
ANIMALS
Released: Dec. 1, 2009

Identical in general import but, alas, far inferior in presentation to Kevin Sherry's exuberant I'm the Biggest Thing in the Ocean! (2007), this boastfest pairs stumbling rhymes to static jumbles of cartoon figures. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

WOLVES IN THE WALLS
by Jennie K.

BOOK REPORT for Of Scars and Stardust by Andrea Hannah

Cover Story: Sisterly Flub

BFF Charm: Nope

Swoonworthy Scale: 5

Talky Talk: Where Is My Mind?

Bonus Factors: Unreliable Narrator

Relationship Status: Visiting Privileges

 

Cover Story:  Sisterly Flub

These (brunette, not blonde) girls are in a snowy forest, not a cornfield. Why they are holding each other (and ...


Read the full post >