Search Results: "Harambee K. Grey-Sun"


BOOK REVIEW

BROKEN ANGELS by Harambee K. Grey-Sun
Released: June 14, 2012

"Avoiding the comic-book trap (though there is some resemblance to The Matrix), this cross-dimensional thriller should give broad-minded readers a heady brew of thought and superpowered action."
A virus grants victims superhuman powers and perceptions (if it doesn't kill them first), and Robert and Darryl are two such carriers, fighting crime and unstable fellow infectees. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DIVINITIES, ENTANGLED by Harambee K. Grey-Sun
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY

"Intrepid readers will enjoy this ride, however puzzling, through the fever-dream sequel to a metaphysical action-adventure."
With civilization—and reality itself—on the verge of chaotic collapse, Robert Goldner, a secret agent and tormented carrier of a virus granting superhuman powers, confronts interdimensional conspiracies. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPRING'S FALL by Harambee K. Grey-Sun
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 26, 2013

"A good choice for poetry readers who enjoy a challenge, but one that may frustrate those seeking a more immediate payoff."
An ambitious but convoluted coming-of-age epic in verse. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLOODLIGHT by Harambee K. Grey-Sun
Released: Feb. 7, 2013

"A gritty story of a tough boy in a bad situation, weighed down by its competing genres."
In Grey-Sun's (Broken Angels, 2012) novel set in an ambiguously dark future, a high school wrestler deals with girl problems, bullies and intense visions. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LIKING THE UNLIKABLE
by Leila Roy

I know it’s not cool to define yourself by a boy. Girls are supposed to be independent, these days. We should be Strong Female Characters, we should be tough and self-motivated and grrrrrls instead of girls. We’re supposed to run the world—girls—and look unapologetically into the camera. We don’t have to smile. We can cross our arms or curl our ...
Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A BOY AND HIS SKUNK
by Leila Roy

“I love him,” Bat said. He hadn’t meant to say it out loud. Mom laughed. “Careful, or you might make me jealous,” she said.
“But it’s true,” Bat said. “I love him.” 
Mom said they’d have to hand the kit over to the rescue center in a month. But Bat, holding the tiny animal in ...

Read the full post >

BLOG POST

NEW IN MARCH 2017
by Leila Roy

There are HEAPS of books coming out this month, and I want to read a LOT of them.

Let’s take a look!

A Boy Called Bat, by Elana K. Arnold

I’ve already written about this treasure at length, but my love is such that I can’t let a single opportunity to recommend it pass me by. Buy it, read it ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

TRACTION MAN AND THE BEACH ODYSSEY by Mini Grey
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 22, 2012

"A wonderfully satirical, action-packed romp that echoes the grand tradition of comic books as it ingeniously communicates the complete absorption of imaginative play. (Picture book. 6-9)"
The intrepid, square-jawed action figure Traction Man is back, but is he ready for the likes of Beach-Time Brenda™? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A LOVE TO REMEMBER by Sun Eastley
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 30, 2014

"Other than its lurid sex scenes, a sometimes hard-to-follow read that's easy to forget."
In this novel, a young woman navigates romance and discovers her mother's own murky romantic past. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MID-LIFE EX-WIFE by Stella Grey
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 2, 2017

"A frank, guileless, and useful account of a 50-something's search for love through online dating services."
One woman's adventures in the online dating scene. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TRACTION MAN MEETS TURBODOG by Mini Grey
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 9, 2008

"Hilarious details lurk throughout, and readers won't want to miss even one. (Picture book. 6-9)"
Anyone who has read Traction Man Is Here (2005) knows that the toy action-figure's beloved pet Scrubbing Brush could never, ever be replaced by the battery-operated "generic robotic hound" Turbodog™. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HERMELIN THE DETECTIVE MOUSE by Mini Grey
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 5, 2014

"Grey brings her hilarious, cartoonish-yet-artful Traction Man sensibilities to this winsome story of the importance of transcending stereotypes, especially when it comes to mouse detectives. (Picture book. 5-8)"
It's a terrible thing for Hermelin to be so cruelly misjudged, especially when the mouse's single aim is to help the hapless people of Offley Street. Read full book review >