Search Results: "Haroon K. Ullah"


BOOK REVIEW

THE BARGAIN FROM THE BAZAAR by Haroon K. Ullah
NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 11, 2014

"Ullah ends his engrossing book on a note of guarded optimism: '[F]amilies, like entire nations, must sometimes have to withstand the toughest trials and endure almost beyond endurance.'"
On-the-ground look at how terrorism has come to shape the way ordinary middle-class Pakistani families navigate their daily lives. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOW TO BE A MUSLIM by Haroon Moghul
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 6, 2017

"Studded with some useful observation but fails to properly address the title."
The troubled tale of one man's search for faith and happiness. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WIFE OF JOHN THE BAPTIST by K. Ford K.
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 20, 2014

"A slow-moving but well-written tale embroidering the life of one of Scripture's most charismatic figures."
This reimagining of John the Baptist's life gives the itinerate prophet a Greek wife who desperately wantshimto avert his dark destiny. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LIKING THE UNLIKABLE
by Leila Roy

I know it’s not cool to define yourself by a boy. Girls are supposed to be independent, these days. We should be Strong Female Characters, we should be tough and self-motivated and grrrrrls instead of girls. We’re supposed to run the world—girls—and look unapologetically into the camera. We don’t have to smile. We can cross our arms or curl our ...
Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

HERE'S DEATH by K. Valberde
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: March 24, 2009

"A richly textured, thoughtful whodunit with a moral bite."
The London Blitz makes an almost perfect coverup for murder in this labyrinthine mystery. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LENT HAND by Kathleen K.
Released: Nov. 12, 2011

"A comical, honest love story between two lost souls who complete each other."
A beautifully woven novel about an unusual boy and how he finds his way. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HITLIST by K. Rawson
Released: July 2, 2015

"A precise portrait of the teen zeitgeist that reassures readers that, despite indications to the contrary, the kids are all right."
An impulsive high school cyber-prank spirals dangerously out of control in Rawson's visceral, compelling debut YA novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SECRET LIFE OF A SUBMISSIVE by Sarah K
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 26, 2013

"A titillating story for the Fifty Shades set that plumbs the complex, intimate head space of the sexually submissive."
A British woman's epiphanic transformation from bored divorcee to kinky, sensual slave. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: June 27, 2012

"A witty and wise read, especially for fans of tough-minded heroines."
A fictional account of one woman's struggle with marriage and faith. Read full book review >