Search Results: "Henry W. Jenkins"


BOOK REVIEW

THE CHICKEN SHACK by Henry W. Jenkins
Released: April 25, 2011

"Plenty of suspense and more heart than your average mystery."
An absorbing murder mystery with the right number of moving parts. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 15, 2013

"May serve as a useful handbook for digital media strategists and marketers, but this dense tome will take a major effort for nonspecialists to fully understand."
A wide-ranging examination of the contemporary media environment as individuals increasingly control their own creation of content. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

BEVERLY JENKINS
by Poornima Apte

If Beverly Jenkins had her way, her novels would have many more history nuggets than they do. But then, she says, she has to remind herself that she is writing romance, not a history book. The veteran award-winning writer of African-American historical fiction novels has dozens of books under her belt and knows it’s a fine line to walk between ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A SEASON OF CHANGE
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi friends!

As some of you know, I was in DC this past week for my father-in-law’s funeral.

I lived in the DC area for twenty years before we moved to Wisconsin 11 years ago, so my husband—who hadn’t been back in ten years (I was there for a quick trip in 2014 for a conference, but didn’t have time ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

JANUARY ROMANCE
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi romance friends!

It’s the last week of January (quite a month in every arena, at least in the Dumas home), so I thought I’d check in with my reviewer friends!

Last November you may recall I had weekly “Best of 2016” posts with PJ Ausdenmore, Scandie from Scandalicious, librarian Lynn Wall, and SOS Aloha.

I touched base with them ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BEETLE BOOK by Steve Jenkins
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 3, 2012

"Otherwise, distinguished both as natural history and work of art. (Nonfiction. 7-12)"
Jenkins' splendid array of beetles will surely produce at least one budding coleopterist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALMOST GONE by Steve Jenkins
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 2006

This new entry in the Let's-Read-and-Find-Out series features some 20 animals that face extinction, along with a couple of handfuls that represent actually extinct species and some that are fighting back, illustrated with Jenkins's trademark textured collages. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ANIMAL BOOK by Steve Jenkins
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 29, 2013

"With facts sure to delight readers—who will be impatient to share their discoveries—this spectacular book is a must-purchase for animal-loving families and most libraries. (glossary, bibliography) (Nonfiction. 5 & up)"
Building on years of experience in selecting animal facts and creating arresting illustrations, Jenkins surpasses his previous work with an amazing album characterized by clear organization, realistic images and carefully chosen examples. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

APEX PREDATORS by Steve Jenkins
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 6, 2017

"No red—but lots of tooth and claw on display. (Informational picture book. 6-9)"
Face-to-face introductions to over two dozen creatures it would be better to avoid. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMALS
Released: May 4, 2009

"Once again, Jenkins provides an almost irresistible entry into our natural world for the youngest readers. (Informational picture book. 5-8)"
From above the surface to the bottom of the deepest sea canyon, unusual creatures inhabit every level of our oceans, even those seemingly hostile to life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SLAP, SQUEAK & SCATTER by Steve Jenkins
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2001

"While the title will provide a first look at animal communication, it is not as successful as Jenkins's previous efforts. (Nonfiction. 8-10)"
Jenkins, whose art can be seen in his own and others' books on natural themes, here provides an introduction to the ways animals communicate, with brief text and full-color torn- and cut-paper collages. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOTTEST, COLDEST, HIGHEST, DEEPEST by Steve Jenkins
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 1998

"Such quibbling only makes the book more valuable, inspiring readers to do further research after they've been visually seduced. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Once again, Jenkins (Big and Little, 1996, etc.) provides jaw-dropping facts and extremely elegant paper collages to illustrate the amazing natural world. Read full book review >