Search Results: "Hilary Wagner"


BOOK REVIEW

WAGNER by Michael Tanner
NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 1996

"There is no question that Tanner, by fair means as well as foul, celebrates Wagner's power to achieve that."
Tanner, a Cambridge philosopher and opera critic for the Spectator, offers analyses of the plots of Wagner's operas, the intellectual themes projected by them, and an evaluation of the music that is (for most of us) their justification. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WHITE ASSASSIN by Hilary Wagner
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"The ending satisfies, but there are some definite loose ends. Look forward to more adventures in Nightshade City. (Animal fantasy. 9-12)"
The second installment of The Nightshade Chronicles doesn't disappoint. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LORDS OF TRILLIUM by Hilary Wagner
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 15, 2014

"Fast-paced and full of intrigue, this is one fantasy lovers won't want to miss. (Animal fantasy. 9-12)"
The third volume of the Nightshade Chronicles (Nightshade City, 2010; The White Assassin, 2011) is as entertaining as it is satisfying. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NIGHTSHADE CITY by Hilary Wagner
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2010

"A good story well-told. (Animal fantasy. 10-14)"
Fans of Suzanne Collins's Underland Chronicles and Brian Jacques's Redwall series will enjoy this fast-paced adventure set deep in the Catacombs, where a community of intelligent rats lives in peace and harmony. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEING WAGNER by Simon Callow
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"'Dangerous and dynamic,' Callow's Wagner is a 'musical genius,' but he 'cannot bring comfort. Which is why people fight over him.' An infectiously readable biography."
A brief life of the composer who "got under people's skin." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WAGNER NIGHTS by Joseph Horowitz
NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 1994

"A work of engrossing scholarship about an important, unjustly ignored slice of our artistic past."
An expert blend of musical and social history, illuminating one of the cultural cores of America's ``Gilded Age.'' In the 1880s, as accurately depicted in Edith Wharton's Age of Innocence, the upper echelons of New York society flocked to Faust (a scene carefully retained in Martin Scorsese's recent film version). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HILARY AND THE LIONS by Frank DeSaix
Released: Oct. 24, 1990

Separated from her parents on a visit to New York, Hilary curls up at the foot of the library lions—which then come to lite and take her on a city tour before returning her to her hotel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HILARY AND THE TROUBLEMAKERS by Kathleen Leverich
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 26, 1992

"Illustrations not seen. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Hilary's highly imaginative alibis are so real to her that- -unlike her family and her teacher—she quite believes in them. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HILARY RODHAM CLINTON by Kathleen Krull
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Aug. 26, 2008

"No matter—she was propelling her way into history.' (author's notes, sources) (Picture book/biography. 4-8)"
When young Hillary Rodham's hopes of joining NASA as an astronaut were dashed because she was a girl, she didn't stop dreaming or doing, all the way (almost) to the top. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A FAIRY CALLED HILARY by Linda Leopold Strauss
Released: April 15, 1999

"In her wonderful frolic, Strauss mingles ordinary events and enchantment with ease; the fun is complemented by charmingly droll black-and-white drawings. (Fiction. 7-11)"
A very funny little book about a fairy and the family she elects to live with after they confess they believe in her. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 1, 2008

"An epic pieced together with rare authenticity."
Carr (Mahler, 1997, etc.) captures a vast sweep of European history as he traces the lives of the legendary German composer and his heirs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PEARL AND WAGNER by Kate McMullan
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2009

"Kids who love listening to Kevin Henkes's books about Lily and her friends will enjoy reading this one themselves. (Early reader. 5-8)"
Poor Wagner—he is having a rough day. Read full book review >