Search Results: "Hilary Wagner"


BOOK REVIEW

LORDS OF TRILLIUM by Hilary Wagner
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 15, 2014

"Fast-paced and full of intrigue, this is one fantasy lovers won't want to miss. (Animal fantasy. 9-12)"
The third volume of the Nightshade Chronicles (Nightshade City, 2010; The White Assassin, 2011) is as entertaining as it is satisfying. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WHITE ASSASSIN by Hilary Wagner
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"The ending satisfies, but there are some definite loose ends. Look forward to more adventures in Nightshade City. (Animal fantasy. 9-12)"
The second installment of The Nightshade Chronicles doesn't disappoint. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NIGHTSHADE CITY by Hilary Wagner
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2010

"A good story well-told. (Animal fantasy. 10-14)"
Fans of Suzanne Collins's Underland Chronicles and Brian Jacques's Redwall series will enjoy this fast-paced adventure set deep in the Catacombs, where a community of intelligent rats lives in peace and harmony. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 2009

"Unflinching, humorous and heartfelt."
Print and public-radio journalist Wagner describes rebuilding after Hurricane Katrina. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Conquest Defiled by Robert Wagner
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 4, 2013

"A tale of war, love and religious strife by a promising new novelist."
A young man struggles against family, church and state to find love and a life of his own. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FORCE MAJEURE by Bruce Wagner
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 1, 1991

"Richly done boffo winner."
Smashing debut novel in which screenwriter Bud Wiggin, a Thomas Wolfe for failed screenwriters, seems to be a stand-in for author Wagner—screenwriter of the stupid but successful Scenes from the Class Struggle in Beverly Hills and Nightmare on Elm Street 3. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEIZURE by Erica Wagner
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2007

"Wagner's clean, sturdy prose imparts an inevitability to what is taboo, but some gratuitous mystification prevents a complete surrender to her spell."
The elemental passions of two siblings fuel this first novel, whose contemporary trappings fall away to reveal a fable outside time. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE EMPTY CHAIR by Bruce Wagner
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 26, 2013

"Wagner meditates on our fundamental cravings for connections—both human and divine—and meanings—both personal and cosmic—with wit, compassion and a sharp eye for the lies we tell ourselves."
Casting himself as a story collector, Wagner links two novellas, two narratives separated in time yet bound by a common motif: the empty chair, where loss, grief and death are seated. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ELIXIR by Hilary Duff
ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 12, 2010

"Nice-guy supporters will resent the bum rap Duff gives to Ben, Clea's other admirer, but they're the wrong audience for this purple, obsessive, murderrific series opener. (Paranormal romance/horror. YA)"
Ludicrous wish-fulfillment trappings surround immortality, gore and passion. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PERMANENT ROSE by Hilary McKay
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2005

"This fine, funny sequel, with its wonderful dialogue and utterly effortless-seeming weave of plots and characters, stands on its own, but readers will certainly want to get their hands on the first two. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Readers who have fallen in love with the eccentric, cheerfully chaotic Casson family from the award-winning Saffy's Angel (2002) and Indigo's Star (2004) may initially resent the intrusion of David, the enormous ex-tormenter of Indigo, who seems as if he'll never be accepted into the fold. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE EXILES AT HOME by Hilary McKay
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 1994

"The Conroy sisters are slightly too eccentric to gain the devotion and sympathy of their readers, but kids will be amused at their bizarre antics. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Ruth, Naomi, Rachel, and Phoebe Conroy are up to their old mischief in this sequel to The Exiles (1992). Read full book review >