Search Results: "Holly Clifton-Brown"


BOOK REVIEW

WHERE ARE YOU, BLUE? by Sonali Fry
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 28, 2015

"Utterly charming. (Board book. 2-3)"
All the Dots in Dot Town gather for a swell meal, but one of their number is missing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STELLA BRINGS THE FAMILY by Miriam B. Schiffer
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 5, 2015

"Essential. (Picture book. 4-8)"
At school, everyone is excited about the upcoming Mother's Day celebration except for Stella. She is not sure what she will do since she has two dads and no mom. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG BIRTHDAY by Kate Hosford
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2012

"While the illustrations maintain a harmonious duet with the story, the language stalls instead of soars. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Annabelle's wish for an out-of-this-world birthday party crash-lands in Hosford's spirited, if slightly off-meter, book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG BOUFFANT by Kate Hosford
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2011

"Nonetheless, Clifton-Brown's whimsical illustrations manage to give the story a joyful spirit and will no doubt elicit some giggles and inspire a number of new bouffants, the bigger the better. (Picture book. 6-10)"
What seems to be a paean to originality finds itself in a snarl by the end. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FLOWER GIRL WORE CELERY by Meryl Gordon
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2016

"A wedding of the new century joyously wrapped in tradition. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Little Emma's cousin is getting married, and such a delightful mix of something old, something new it is. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANNIE HOOT AND THE KNITTING EXTRAVAGANZA by Holly Clifton-Brock
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

"Annie's enthusiasm is infectious, but given the story's flaws, it merits consideration only as an additional purchase. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Annie is a "kind but scatterbrained" owl who enjoys doing new things. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LOVE IS IN THE AIR - #RITAGH
by Bobbi Dumas

It’s an exciting week in the romance world! On Tuesday, RWA announced the finalists in the RITA and Golden Heart contests. (You can find the full list here.)

For those of you who may not know, the Golden Heart is Romance Writers of America’s contest for unpublished authors.

Some of my favorite authors and friends of Read-A-Romance made the RITA ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

DON'T TRY TO FIND ME by Holly Brown
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 8, 2014

"Brown's take on the family's personal dynamics proves insightful, but families of real runaway teens will shake their heads at the kind of police and media attention the author blithely assumes this type of case would draw."
Brown, a marriage and family therapist, examines a family in midcrisis when the 14-year-old daughter runs away, leaving her parents struggling with demons of their own. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

MY CHILDREN'S BOOK GHOST FILE
by Julie Danielson

Over at NPR last week, I heard a pop culture critic talk (here) about what he calls his Ghost File, or the books, television shows, and movies he didn’t review during the year. “[I]t's the great frustration,” he said, “that every year I'm haunted by all the terrific things I haven't talked about … ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

A NECESSARY END by Holly Brown
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 7, 2015

"Unlikable people doing bad things to one another."
What could go wrong with an open adoption among a woman desperate for a baby, her less-enthusiastic husband, and the strange young woman who demands a very special price for relinquishing her child? In Brown's second novel, just about everything. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

IN FULL FLIGHT WITH GREG PIZZOLI
by Julie Danielson

The start of a new year is always exciting for readers. We envision brand-spankin’-new books from our favorite authors and new artwork from illustrators whose work we love to see. Look past our shoulders and you’ll see crossed fingers that our favorite writers and artists have something in store for us.

Most surprising of all is when we get ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

SCALP DANCE by Lu Clifton
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 18, 2015

"This fine procedural debut by Clifton, who's published several teen novels (Immortal Max, 2014, etc.), is made even more interesting by its detailed information on Native American ceremonies."
A tribal police officer fights inner demons as he investigates a series of killings. Read full book review >