Search Results: "Howard Andrew Jones"


BOOK REVIEW

THE DESERT OF SOULS by Howard Andrew Jones
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"Sufficiently involving to keep readers coming back for more."
Middle Eastern sword-and-sorcery debut and first of a series. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Dec. 11, 2012

"Shortcomings and all, a thumbs-up for series fans."
Sequel to Jones' sword-and-sorcery debut, The Desert of Souls (2011), set in the civilized, tolerant Middle East of the 8th-century caliphate. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY LAI by Howard Jones
NON-FICTION
Released: May 25, 2017

"Jones succeeds on all counts in a book that, due to its subject matter, is not pleasant to read but is powerful and important."
A scrupulous history of one of the darkest moments in American military history. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BAY OF PIGS by Howard Jones
NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 1, 2008

"May become the preferred single-source reference to an episode whose foreign policy and military implications continue to reverberate."
A taut account of a dismal passage of the Cold War: the failed, American-sponsored attempt to invade Cuba and remove Fidel Castro from power. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 1, 2003

"Solid history marked by memorable moments (including a glimpse of David Halberstam looting Saigon's presidential palace) and the highly effective use of hitherto classified documents."
Was JFK a hawk or a dove? Was the tragedy of Vietnam inevitable? Jones (History/Univ. of Alabama) provides a cord or two of fresh wood to fuel the ongoing debate. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 18, 1997

"Though this is unsatisfying as a skim-milk latte in places, Schultz is less a braggart and more a true believer than many CEOs, and (with Business Week staffer Yang) he provides a pleasing read. ($300,000 ad/promo; author tour)"
A chatty history of Starbucks by its CEO, who announces that he considers the company to be only in its third chapter (which is nowhere near the eleventh). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HAVE YOU SEEN MY EGG? by Andrew Fairchild
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 13, 2017

"An animal fable—with beautiful watercolor images—about following your dreams when others tell you to quit that never quite delves into the consequences."
A resolute rooster decides to adopt an egg in this illustrated barnyard tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WRITTEN ON WATER by Eileen Chang
NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 2005

"Original, memorable and unlike anything else that has come from the era. A fine contribution to Chinese letters in translation."
The "Garbo of Chinese letters" speaks, and most eloquently. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

MAKING UP HISTORY (BUT MAKING IT FEEL REAL)
by Claiborne Smith

When debut authors talk about their struggles to get published, their stories usually boil down to a dramatic tale of numbers, despite the literary context: X number of writing workshops they attended, X number of years spent working on the debut, X number of rejections from agents or publishers. Andrew Hilleman, whose electric, compelling debut novel, World, Chase Me Down ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

6 BOOKS FOR EARLY 2017
by Ana Grilo

Who’s excited that 2016 is coming to an end soon? I know I am, and I already started wish-listing all the awesome-looking 2017 releases and preparing my challenges and goals for 2017. One of them is to continue my Time Travel Project (in which I read as many books featuring time travel as I can, old and new) and the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

WHEN I WAS FIVE by Arthur  Howard
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 1996

"A quietly comic work. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Jeremy tells what his life was like when he was five. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SERIOUS TROUBLE by Arthur  Howard
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2003

"Tucking plenty of wordplay into the brief text to complement his playful, loosely drawn illustrations, Howard produces another child-friendly episode, this one with an underlying message about parental expectations and being allowed to be one's own fool. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Another perceptive, deceptively cartoonish tale from Howard. Read full book review >