Search Results: "Howard McWilliam"


BOOK REVIEW

WHEN A DRAGON MOVES IN AGAIN by Jodi Moore
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"It doesn't matter whether or not they can be seen; there's a little bit of dragon inside each of us. Here's to dragon-taming. (Picture book. 3-8)"
In this companion to When a Dragon Moves In (2011), it turns out that castles of any sort, not just sand, attract dragons, so the soon-to-be-born baby's crib, with its crenellations and turrets at the corners, has an occupant even before mom gives birth. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT IF YOU HAD ANIMAL TEETH? by Sandra Markle
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2013

"Irresistible. (Informational picture book. 5-9)"
What if an animal's teeth grew into the space where you lost your two front teeth? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I NEED MY MONSTER by Amanda Noll
by Amanda Noll, illustrated by Howard McWilliam, developed by Pony Tale
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 16, 2012

"Whether your young ones have bedtime angst or not, this monster is worth keeping around. (iPad storybook app. 5-8)"
This little boy's not afraid of the monster under his bed. In fact, everything about Gabe is perfect...until he takes the week off, leaving substitutes to fill in. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHEN A DRAGON MOVES IN by Jodi Moore
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2011

"A sandy complement to If You Give a Mouse a Cookie. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Doesn't every child want a dragon? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I NEED MY MONSTER by Amanda Noll
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: April 1, 2009

"A clever anxiety-defuser and an unusually well done double-debut. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Fretting that he won't be able to get to sleep with Gabe, his favorite under-the-bed monster, who has gone off on a fishing trip, a lad holds auditions for a temporary replacement. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HEY, THAT'S MY MONSTER! by Amanda Noll
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"What could be more soporific at bedtime than hairy, green-haired slime ogres with nightlight-orange eyes? (Picture book. 5-8)"
Another round of under-the-bed-boojum auditions from the creators of I Need My Monster (2009). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHMELF THE HANUKKAH ELF by Greg Wolfe
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Those in search of seasonal stories that contain a blend of Christmas and Hanukkah will find an entertaining tale here. (Picture book. 3-6)"
What! Some good children will not receive Christmas presents? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEBATABLE LAND by Candia McWilliam
Released: March 13, 1995

"Utilizing lovely literary prose is like spelling banana: You have to know when to stop."
In this British import, McWilliam (A Little Stranger, 1989) imposes her florid voice on Scots and others making a Pacific journey by boat from Papeete, Tahiti. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT TO LOOK FOR IN WINTER by Candia McWilliam
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 20, 2012

"Anyone who enjoys a play of words and appreciates the turn of a phrase in a beautifully constructed sentence will value this book for years to come."
Not just a remarkable memoir of McWilliam's (Wait Till I Tell You, 1997, etc.) battle with the onset of blindness, but also a blissful celebration of the poetry of her prose. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HUBBUB ABOVE by Arthur  Howard
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2005

"The United Nations could use a Sydney—most households could, too. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A heavenly quiet on the 52nd floor, high above chaotic Manhattan, is shattered when the new upstairs neighbors turn out to be elephants. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY DREAM DOG by Arthur  Howard
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 4, 2016

"Certainly an ode to dog lovers, the conclusion may leave readers perplexed. (Picture book. 4-7)"
A boy wonders what his dog dreams about. Read full book review >