Search Results: "Hsi-kuo Chang"


BOOK REVIEW

FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2003

"A true original, like an epic of Chinese history retold with Tolkien-esque grandeur and yet wholly unique: a masterpiece."
Not only is there apparently a "father of science fiction" among Taiwanese writers, but the man himself (a professor at the Univ. of Pittsburgh) is nothing short of awe-inspiring. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHUNG KUO by David Wingrove
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Jan. 13, 1992

"The effect is numbing, unless you already share Wingrove's peculiar obsessions."
Chunk three of Wingrove's projected seven-book, 23rd-century megayarn: the repressed West's stealthy struggle to overthrow Chinese capitalist overlords. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHUNG KUO by David Wingrove
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Sept. 2, 1993

"More of the same: those already hooked on Chung Kuo will want to continue their acquaintance; the merely curious would do better to start with volume one—this is a heavy, tortuous series with a cast of thousands, and isolated installments are not readily intelligible."
Fourth of Wingrove's Chung Kuo series of yarns (The White Mountain, 1992, etc.)—a vast epic of revolution and war in a relatively low-tech, overpopulated medium-future ruled by seven Chinese overlords, or T'angs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Alice Chang by Robert Gilberg
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 9, 2016

"A fast-paced technology tale with enough international intrigue and luxurious details to rival a James Bond adventure.
"
In this debut thriller, an engineer investigates a plane crash only to discover a global conspiracy to hack digital satellite television systems that may involve a woman from his past. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 1, 2007

"A disquieting reminder of the old maxim, 'The dead can't answer back.'"
An attempt to explain a friend's baffling suicide. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHANG AND ENG by Darin Strauss
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 5, 2000

"Admirably researched, continuously absorbing, and very moving indeed."
An imposingly original first novel that focuses on unique historical figures: the eponymous Siamese twin brothers (1811-74) who endured opprobrium and despair, became international celebrities, married two American sisters, and fathered 21 children between them. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHANG AND THE BAMBOO FLUTE by Elizabeth Starr Hill
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 25, 2002

In a simply told sequel to Bird Boy (1999), young Chang, born mute, finds a way to help his family after flood-borne wreckage damages their houseboat. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

READING WITH PATRICK by Michelle  Kuo
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 11, 2017

"Thoughtfully provocative reading."
The story of a mutually transformative friendship between the author and a black student she met as a Teach for America volunteer in Arkansas. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MAN WHO DAMMED THE YANGTZE by Alex Kuo
Released: June 16, 2011

"A sterile account of parallel lives."
This so-called mathematical novel from the Chinese-American poet and novelist (A Chinaman's Chance, 2011, etc.) is meta-fiction that tracks two linked characters. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DOT.BOMB by J. David Kuo
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 15, 2001

"Slightly better than average: a cautionary business tale for readers of Forbes and Fortune."
Or, how to lose a gazillion dollars in ten easy lessons. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GO, LITTLE GREEN TRUCK! by Roni Schotter
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 16, 2016

"A familiar trope with a subtle, ecological twist. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A little green truck is the farm's best work truck, until he is replaced by a bigger and better model. Read full book review >