Search Results: "Hsi-kuo Chang"


BOOK REVIEW

FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2003

"A true original, like an epic of Chinese history retold with Tolkien-esque grandeur and yet wholly unique: a masterpiece."
Not only is there apparently a "father of science fiction" among Taiwanese writers, but the man himself (a professor at the Univ. of Pittsburgh) is nothing short of awe-inspiring. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MAN WHO DAMMED THE YANGTZE by Alex Kuo
Released: June 16, 2011

"A sterile account of parallel lives."
This so-called mathematical novel from the Chinese-American poet and novelist (A Chinaman's Chance, 2011, etc.) is meta-fiction that tracks two linked characters. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

READING WITH PATRICK by Michelle  Kuo
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 11, 2017

"Thoughtfully provocative reading."
The story of a mutually transformative friendship between the author and a black student she met as a Teach for America volunteer in Arkansas. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DAISY AND JOSEPHINE by Melissa Gilbert
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 28, 2014

"A canine penchant for French couture adds unexpected verve to this otherwise fairly ordinary tale of a lonely girl. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Daisy's new puppy may refuse to play fetch, chase or catch, but she's a fashionista who soon wins Daisy's heart. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GO, LITTLE GREEN TRUCK! by Roni Schotter
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 16, 2016

"A familiar trope with a subtle, ecological twist. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A little green truck is the farm's best work truck, until he is replaced by a bigger and better model. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DOT.BOMB by J. David Kuo
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 15, 2001

"Slightly better than average: a cautionary business tale for readers of Forbes and Fortune."
Or, how to lose a gazillion dollars in ten easy lessons. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLARA LEE AND THE APPLE PIE DREAM by Jenny Han
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 4, 2011

"Final art not seen. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Dreaming of being the Apple Pie Princess in her town's Apple Blossom Festival, Korean-American third grader Clara Lee defies a classmate who claims to be more deserving and bravely makes a speech in front of the whole school to win the honor. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SOUND OF SILENCE by Katrina Goldsaito
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 2, 2016

"An inviting tale that will stretch inquisitive and observant young minds—and may even lead children to a greater appreciation of that golden commodity, silence. (Picture book. 5-9)"
Like a Zen koan, this story draws readers' attention to silence, that vanishingly rare attribute of modern family life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CELIA’S ROBOT by Margaret Chang
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 15, 2009

"A bit of mystery plus solidly believable, complex friend-family relationships and a smart girl who's fearless about technology make for an appealing light read. (Science fiction. 9-12)"
Celia's cellist (Caucasian) mom and inventor (Chinese-American) dad are loving, busy parents whose work and travel mean less time for hand-holding over school and home routines. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: May 1, 1999

"McElrath-Eslick's artwork is handsome and evocative, dreamy but with enough detail to keep readers' eyes busy. (Picture book. 5-9)"
This enchanted adventure tale from the Changs (The Beggar's Magic, 1997, etc.) rolls along smoothly, telling of a poor but thoughtful and diligent son of a peasant in China. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 1999

"Life, of course, is tangled—the lives of these women perhaps more than most—but Chang's eye for detail and willingness to probe can't overcome prose that reads like a final project for a writer's workshop."
First-time author Chang rather falteringly describes the flight of her mother and three friends from the Communist takeover of China to middle-class lives in the US. Read full book review >