Search Results: "Hugh B. Urban"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 2011

"An intriguing introduction into the labyrinthine world of Scientology and its meaning in American society. For a more entertaining, behind-the-scenes look, check out Janet Reitman's Inside Scientology (2011)."
A fascinating and oftentimes mind-bending account of how penny-a-word sci-fi writer L. Ron Hubbard doggedly pursued the "religion angle" in his quest to create the worldwide Church of Scientology. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LONG LIVE THE DEAD by Hugh B. Cave
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 1, 2000

"If stories like 'Dead Dog,' 'Shadow,' and 'Long Live the Dead' seem merely routine, even pulpophobes will admire 'The Missing Mr. Lee,' which packs six different narrators' versions of what happened to a vanished liquor salesman into a dozen clever, fast-paced pages."
If Cave, prolific author of over 40 books (with 3 more forthcoming from the still-active 90-year-old) and over 1200 short stories, isn't exactly a forgotten classic, he's a seasoned practitioner whose ten tales (1934-41) collected here, together with a substantial introduction and interview by Deutsch, are bound to appeal to fans of Spicy Detective Stories, Dime Detective, and, yes, Black Mask. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COME INTO MY PARLOR by Hugh B. Cave
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 25, 2003

"Nostalgic tales that must have seemed gauzy even in their first bloom."
In this follow-up to Long Live the Dead (2000), prolific pulp survivor Cave, still active at 92, collects 11 stories he wrote between 1936 and 1940 for Detective Fiction Weekly. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 1, 2007

"A passionately presented book full of intriguing revelations."
A spirited portrait of life during the American Revolution from the perspective of the British army, with a particular focus on a regiment known as the Royal Welch Fusiliers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOUND DOG TRUE by Linda Urban
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 19, 2011

"This outstanding, emotionally resonant effort will appeal to middle-grade readers. (Fiction. 8-12)"
With a little help from a caring adult, a child crippled by shyness begins to bloom. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOMETIMES THE WOLF by Urban Waite
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 21, 2014

"A tale of greed and violence and loyalty and of fathers and sons who communicate in silences, 'fearful of what response might come, of what truths might be revealed.'"
Wild things haunt the Northern Cascades' evergreen slopes and valleys in Waite's (The Carrion Birds, 2013, etc.) third novel. Those most feral walk on two legs.Read full book review >

BLOG POST

JESSICA B. HARRIS
by Maya Payne Smart

Scenic and engaging, My Soul Looks Back recounts the years author Jessica B. Harris spent on the periphery of a circle of friends that included literary powerhouses James Baldwin, Maya Angelou, and Toni Morrison. The memoir spans the globe and several decades to describe the fascinating group.

Harris was in a relationship with Baldwin’s close friend Samuel Clemens Floyd III ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

A CROOKED KIND OF PERFECT by Linda Urban
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2007

"The author doesn't pull out all the stops, and the ending is pat, but this is still a satisfying read. (Fiction. 9-12)"
All ten-year-old Zoe Elias has ever wanted is a baby grand so that she can become a star who dazzles Carnegie Hall. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WAITING FOR DELIVERANCE by Betsy Urban
FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 2000

"Is such characterization fair or needed and will readers be aware of the dangers of such a misuse of both fiction and history? (Historical fiction. 12-14)"
In a setting on the New York frontier in the Finger Lakes region during the 1790s, orphans Deliverance (Livy) Pelton and her younger cousin Ephraim (Eph) become burdens on the town and are sold to a seemingly uncouth and ignorant frontiersman, Gideon Gunn, at a Pauper's Auction. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CARRION BIRDS by Urban Waite
Released: April 16, 2013

"Fierce and lyrical."
Wild West noir from Waite (The Terror of Living, 2011), his second literary effort. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE RED HENRY by Linda Urban
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 28, 2015

"A story that humorously but gently reminds overprotective families that it is natural and necessary and healthy for a child to learn to do for himself. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A picture book about a youngest child who wants to grow up...but the rest of the family isn't ready to let him. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MILO SPECK, ACCIDENTAL AGENT by Linda Urban
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"Imaginative, kooky, but too devoid of reality to be fully engaging, this story is likely to score with its demographic but will not find converts outside it. (Adventure. 8-12)"
When a boy is magically transported to Ogregon, a world of gigantic but mostly small-brained ogres, he must figure out not only how to escape before being eaten, but also how to rescue a group of captives and plug the hole between worlds. Read full book review >