Search Results: "Ian K. Smith"


BOOK REVIEW

EAT by Ian K. Smith
NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 2011

"Fitness buffs should pass, but those who need to get started shedding pounds will find good, painless advice for healthy weight loss."
Rachael Ray Show health expert Smith (Happy, 2010, etc.), offers simple advice for losing weight without feeling hungry. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BLACKBIRD PAPERS by Ian Smith
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 22, 2004

"Familiar fare—the heavy breathing, the red herrings, the innocent on the run, the unmasking of the real killer—expertly prepared."
The murder of a beloved Dartmouth biologist opens a window to a whole new kind of mass murder in <\I>NBC News medical correspondent Smith's debut thriller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ORDINARY LIGHT by Tracy K. Smith
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 2, 2015

"Guilt and regret pervade Smith's recollection of her mother's illness and death, darkening the edges of this light-filled memoir."
A daughter's journey to claim her identity. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JUDICIAL MURDER? by Dayle K. Smith
NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 24, 2013

"A well-argued analysis of a key trial in postwar Japan."
An Australian jurist evaluates the legality of the Tokyo War Crimes Tribunal that followed Japan's surrender at the end of World War II. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 1, 1996

"Among the recent plethora of commentaries and reminiscences about the American century, Smith's is a standout."
From eminent journalist Smith, an intimate, wistful, eloquently narrated, and wry look back at the 20th century, and at his own extraordinary life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROBERT MORRIS'S FOLLY by Ryan K. Smith
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 26, 2014

"Sharply focused, wonderfully engaging documentation of the 'ruins' of this American Ozymandias."
Examination of the shocking fall of the richest man in Revolutionary America. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LIKING THE UNLIKABLE
by Leila Roy

I know it’s not cool to define yourself by a boy. Girls are supposed to be independent, these days. We should be Strong Female Characters, we should be tough and self-motivated and grrrrrls instead of girls. We’re supposed to run the world—girls—and look unapologetically into the camera. We don’t have to smile. We can cross our arms or curl our ...
Read the full post >

BLOG POST

GOOSEBUMPS
by Leila Roy

When sleep finally comes, I sink into a murky world of shadows. There is a tunnel before me, with bright light in the distance. The ground rumbles. White fog surrounds me. My heart is pounding. Something is coming, but I do not know what, and only feel its presence, a terrible shadow that slithers along the ground, leaving a trail ...

Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

OLIVIA by Ian Falconer
Kirkus Star
by Ian Falconer, illustrated by Ian Falconer
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"New fans of Falconer can only hope Ian will soon star in his own book. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Even before her story begins, readers are following Olivia as she leaves a trail of clothes that she has eschewed in favor of the outfit du jour for her auspicious entrance on the title page. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OLIVIA SAVES THE CIRCUS by Ian Falconer
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2001

"Fans will not be disappointed by this uniquely new sequel. (Picture book. 3-7)"
She's b-a-a-c-k. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OLIVIA THE SPY by Ian Falconer
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 4, 2017

"Once die-hard fans spy this, they'll make a grab for it. (Picture book. 4-7)"
That irrepressible porker is back. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TRUE STORY OF TRAPPER JACK’S LEFT BIG TOE by Ian Wallace
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2001

"A great story, so well paced even the author's note brings the fluid text to a smooth and satisfying end. (Picture book. 6-10)"
When Josh learns from his best friend that Trapper John's big toe is in a tobacco tin behind the Sourdough Saloon counter, he's skeptical. Read full book review >