Search Results: "Ivan Bates"


BOOK REVIEW

IVAN by Katherine Applegate
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 7, 2014

"Gently paced, with moving but reassuring images, this is an age-appropriate introduction to the issues of captivity and animal welfare. (Informational picture book. 5-8)"
Applegate reinterprets her Newbery-winning story about Ivan the shopping-mall gorilla for a younger audience of up-and-coming animal activists. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HIDE-AND-SCARE BEAR by Ivan Bates
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 22, 2016

"Though a bit pat, the book addresses an important social skill for the very young. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A rambunctious bear thinks it is fun to scare all the other animals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALL BY MYSELF by Ivan Bates
Released: Feb. 29, 2000

BOOK REVIEW

FIVE LITTLE DUCKS by Ivan Bates
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2006

"As an excellent storytime read, this will encourage children to quack along—and quite likely, listeners young and old will slip into the song's familiar melody, printed on the final page. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Bates expertly applies full-page soft watercolor-and-pencil illustrations to the classic song. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THERE, THERE by Sam McBratney
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2013

"A pleasing portrait of a nurturing father-son relationship, McBratney's latest should find a warm welcome. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Fans of McBratney's best-known work, Guess How Much I Love You (illustrated by Anita Jeram, 1994), will recognize (and embrace) the cozy tone of this charming story about how to cope with mishaps. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG TRUCK AND LITTLE TRUCK by Jan Carr
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"The characters, situations, and art hark back to an antique picture-book tradition, but children of any generation will understand Little Truck's feelings. (Picture book. 5-7)"
A small pick-up truck suffers separation anxiety in this tale for fans of Little Toot, Katy, and other animated work machines. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DO LIKE A DUCK DOES! by Judy Hindley
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 2001

"The rhyming text filled with repetitive phrases make this a natural for reading aloud. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Five little ducklings follow their mother and do what all ducks do, but when a sixth large and very hairy duckling joins the line, Mama Duck must use her ingenuity to root out the imposter. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IVAN PAVLOV by Daniel P. Todes
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 31, 2014

"A comprehensive, nuanced picture of Pavlov's life and times and his seminal contributions to science."
An expansive scholarly biography of Russia's most eminent scientist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FARMER DALE’S RED PICKUP TRUCK by Lisa Wheeler
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2004

"Luckily, this is one ride readers will look forward to taking over and over, allowing them to extract every bit of fun from the trip. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Plenty of wordplay and a rollicking rhythm turn a predictable plot into a practically perfect read-aloud. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOW MANY KISSES DO YOU WANT TONIGHT? by Varsha Bajaj
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2004

"Cutesy, but a good bedtime story. (Picture book. 2-4)"
Animal and human babies get smoochies in a saccharine, but snuggly, tucking-in rhyme. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GRANDMA ELEPHANT’S IN CHARGE by Martin Jenkins
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 2003

"While not all grandmas will appreciate comparisons to the ponderous pachyderms, ones with a sense of humor will enjoy sharing this title with their grandchildren. (Picture book/nonfiction. 4-8)"
Human grandmas and preschoolers will relish this picture-book look at grandma elephant, "the most important member of an elephant family." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PUPPIES AND PIGGIES by Cynthia Rylant
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2008

"Comforting and carefree fare for tiny tots. (Picture book. 3-5)"
A bevy of farm creatures enjoy a few of their favorite things in this barnyard charmer. Read full book review >