Search Results: "JB Sanders"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: June 10, 2011

"Colorful, wacky escapism."
Rich, gay newlyweds put bigots and bad guys in their place in this "bromantic" adventure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHY BERNIE SANDERS MATTERS by Harry Jaffe
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Dec. 22, 2015

"Clarifies some of the candidate's fuzzy past but is hardly disinterested."
'Tis the season for tendentious biographies of presidential candidates; this one's favorable. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHARLES SANDERS PEIRCE by Joseph Brent
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 1, 1993

"It may be possible to offer more subtle and revealing readings of Peirce's character, but it would be hard to write a more sympathetic and eloquent one. (Thirty-five b&w photographs—not seen.)"
After completing his doctoral dissertation on Peirce (1839- 1914), Brent (Intellectual History/University of the District of Columbia) waited 30 years to gain access to the private papers of the controversial founder of pragmatism and semiotics—papers that were suppressed by a Harvard faculty who believed they were protecting Peirce's intellectual reputation—and to write this biography. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CARING DAY by JB Warren
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 9, 2014

"A bold, contemplative, literary collection."
In Warren's debut collection of short stories, people find that life often conflicts with their own inner worlds as they attempt to navigate the tangle of love, parenthood, aging, joy and disappointment. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHARON TATE by Ed Sanders
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 5, 2016

"Readers are likely to finish the book more confused than illuminated by all the possibilities, theories, and potential co-conspirators."
The author revisits the murder that spawned his best-known book, The Family (1971).Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Ex Lottery by Kim Sanders
ROMANCE
Released: May 19, 2014

"A light, uplifting romance that's equal parts comedy, fairy tale and travelogue."
Contemporary romance about a young woman who wins the lottery and travels to Ireland to buy a castle. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RACHEL'S SECRET by Shelly Sanders
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 16, 2012

"Critical for its underexplored subject. (historical note, glossary) (Historical fiction. 10-15)"
This novelization of the 1903 Kishinev pogrom graphically describes the carnage as Christian Russians slaughter their Jewish fellow townspeople. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 6, 2009

"Fans of Jerome Groopman and Atul Gawande will appreciate this first collection by another astute observer of the medical profession."
A doctor's insightful reflections on the disconnect between how physicians should practice and how they actually practice. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FREAK by Ron Sanders
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: June 27, 2007

"Maximal sensory overload but minimal depth perception."
Graphic sex, violence and language permeate Sanders's first novel, an in-your-face thriller set in sunny Southern California. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Aug. 13, 1983

"Crass stuff, then, neither funny nor involving, and more like a pornfilm scenario (without the hard-core porn) than a novel—but sure to attract an audience with the Sanders byline, the intriguing opening pages, and the heavily sexual premise."
The smirky, undramatic rise of a male prostitute—in a long, frankly plotless novel (171 teensy chapters) that offers Sanders' cheery vulgarity without any of his talent for mystery/suspense. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TOMORROW FILE by Lawrence Sanders
Released: Sept. 1, 1975

"It could be self-fulfilling."
Tomorrow's not far off in a plastiworld (everything, by the way, does seem to be plastiformed) of acronyms, computers, cassettes, clones, spare parts, genetic variants, government-licensed pregnancies and genders, synthetic foods and drugs, cosmetics to be applied to your most intimate recesses, and chromosomatic "efs" and "ems" (i.e., females, males)—a world in which you could easily lose your mind as well as your Personhood. Read full book review >