Search Results: "JB Sanders"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: June 10, 2011

"Colorful, wacky escapism."
Rich, gay newlyweds put bigots and bad guys in their place in this "bromantic" adventure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RACHEL'S SECRET by Shelly Sanders
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 16, 2012

"Critical for its underexplored subject. (historical note, glossary) (Historical fiction. 10-15)"
This novelization of the 1903 Kishinev pogrom graphically describes the carnage as Christian Russians slaughter their Jewish fellow townspeople. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FREAK by Ron Sanders
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: June 27, 2007

"Maximal sensory overload but minimal depth perception."
Graphic sex, violence and language permeate Sanders's first novel, an in-your-face thriller set in sunny Southern California. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHARON TATE by Ed Sanders
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 5, 2016

"Readers are likely to finish the book more confused than illuminated by all the possibilities, theories, and potential co-conspirators."
The author revisits the murder that spawned his best-known book, The Family (1971).Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Aug. 13, 1983

"Crass stuff, then, neither funny nor involving, and more like a pornfilm scenario (without the hard-core porn) than a novel—but sure to attract an audience with the Sanders byline, the intriguing opening pages, and the heavily sexual premise."
The smirky, undramatic rise of a male prostitute—in a long, frankly plotless novel (171 teensy chapters) that offers Sanders' cheery vulgarity without any of his talent for mystery/suspense. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Ex Lottery by Kim Sanders
ROMANCE
Released: May 19, 2014

"A light, uplifting romance that's equal parts comedy, fairy tale and travelogue."
Contemporary romance about a young woman who wins the lottery and travels to Ireland to buy a castle. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 6, 2009

"Fans of Jerome Groopman and Atul Gawande will appreciate this first collection by another astute observer of the medical profession."
A doctor's insightful reflections on the disconnect between how physicians should practice and how they actually practice. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE 1ST DEADLY SIN by Lawrence Sanders
Released: Oct. 24, 1973

"Of its kind — commercial but classy commercial (far better written than say The Exorcist) — it's as addictive as anything you're likely to read for several uninterrupted evenings this season."
Full (October) selection of the B-O-M, a first printing of 100,000, an advertising kickoff of $50,000 — and you get the picture — the big picture (that too — Columbia) for a conglomerate novel which is half police procedural (remember The Anderson Tapes — here sans gadgetry), a quarter entailing some slinky, kinky sex (remember Sanders' Pleasures of Helen and Love Songs) and fill in the rest with a great detective, a detective's detective, Ed Delaney by name, and the additional grab (as if it needed it) that his wife Barbara is dying (is she?) of a strange illness called Proteus infection. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TOMORROW FILE by Lawrence Sanders
Released: Sept. 1, 1975

"It could be self-fulfilling."
Tomorrow's not far off in a plastiworld (everything, by the way, does seem to be plastiformed) of acronyms, computers, cassettes, clones, spare parts, genetic variants, government-licensed pregnancies and genders, synthetic foods and drugs, cosmetics to be applied to your most intimate recesses, and chromosomatic "efs" and "ems" (i.e., females, males)—a world in which you could easily lose your mind as well as your Personhood. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

McNALLY'S DILEMMA by Lawrence Sanders
Released: July 5, 1999

"If Lardo doesn't win any new friends for the franchise, he won't disappoint old hands either."
You'd have to be a sharper-eyed sleuth than foppish Archy McNally to find Vincent Lardo's name in tiny print on the copyright page, but Lardo, not the late Sanders, is the author of Archy's eighth adventure (McNally's Trial, 1995, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AMERICAN BLOOD by Ben Sanders
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 17, 2015

"Great dialogue and a hero who won't stay hidden make this a winner for crime fans."
A fast-moving thriller that leaves a trail of blood and grit across the pages. Read full book review >