Search Results: "Jack Campbell"


BOOK REVIEW

BEYOND THE FRONTIER: INVINCIBLE by Jack Campbell
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: May 1, 2012

"Absorbing rather than gripping, although neither series addicts nor newcomers will be disappointed."
Continuing the deep-space adventures of Admiral John "Black Jack" Geary and company (Beyond the Frontier: Dreadnaught, 2011, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GUARDIAN by Jack Campbell
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: May 7, 2013

"Well up to the high standards established by this intriguing series."
Continuing the deep-space adventures of Adm. John "Black Jack" Geary and company (Invincible, 2012, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TARNISHED KNIGHT by Jack Campbell
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Oct. 2, 2012

"All the more impressive for being a significant departure from previous entries."
Beginning a sort of spinoff series taking place, chronologically, between Campbell's last two outings (Beyond the Frontier: Dreadnaught, 2011, and Beyond The Frontier: Invincible, 2012) wherein the influence of "Black Jack" Geary is palpable, though he makes no actual appearance. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PERILOUS SHIELD by Jack Campbell
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Oct. 1, 2013

"The author is dragging things out a bit but not to the point where readers will begin to peel away."
Second of the spinoff series (The Lost Stars: Tarnished Knight, 2012) featuring the struggle of two former CEOs, Gen. Artur Drakon and President Gwen Iceni, to bring the newly independent crossroads Midway system out from under the shadow of the brutal Syndicate. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

WHAT GOES AROUND
by Mandy Curtis

BOOK REPORT for The Boomerang Effect by Gordon Jack

Cover Story: Viking Cute
BFF Charm: Roger Murtaugh
Swoonworthy Scale: 2
Talky Talk: Real Boy
Bonus Factor: Unexpected Friendships
Relationship Status: Maybe in a Few Years 

Cover Story: Viking Cute

A cutesy viking is kind of an oxymoron when you think about the actual history of vikings, but this one with ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

HUG MACHINE by Scott Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 26, 2014

"In his first outing as an author, Campbell shines. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A feel-good ride, full of droll artistic asides and an abundance of caring. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MERMAID AND THE SHOE by K.G. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"Although this luminous tale of self-discovery has echoes of 'The Little Mermaid,' like Minnow, it sings its own strong song. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Unlike her talented older sisters, a little mermaid feels disappointingly ordinary until her curiosity unveils her special skills. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Aug. 1, 2003

"Rapturous fantasy, few chills."
Thirty-three original horrifics from America, Great Britain, and Australia, some from established stars, others from hot new supernovas, as chosen by an editor from each land mass. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LESTER'S DREADFUL SWEATERS by K.G. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2012

"Children forced to wear horrid clothing made by well-meaning relatives will laugh in sympathy with Lester. If Edward Gorey and Polly Horvath had a literary love child, this would be it. (Picture book. 5-9)"
Cousin Clara, who may or may not be related to the rest of the family, knits horrid sweaters at a breakneck speed. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WATER BABY by Ross Campbell
FRIENDS AND SCHOOL
Released: June 24, 2008

"Trying to be edgy with its no-holds-barred dialogue, this latest offering in the Minx line misses the mark and comes off as crude and at times, offensive. (Graphic novel. YA)"
Writer and artist Campbell introduces Brody, a rude surfer chick with a bad attitude who lives and plays by her own rules. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DYLAN THE VILLAIN by K.G. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 23, 2016

"Dylan may have his flaws, but he does his name proud. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Dylan Snivels wants to make a name for himself. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY GOES TO CAMP by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 10, 2014

"Fans of the first will probably be disappointed; at best, it's a desperation read-alike for Big Nate or Wimpy Kid. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 9-12)"
Can Hal survive Camp Jamestown or will he becometh history? Read full book review >