Search Results: "Jake Gerhardt"


BOOK REVIEW

MY FUTURE EX-GIRLFRIEND by Jake Gerhardt
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 16, 2017

"Covering well-worn material, from Sam's desperate need to fart at an inopportune, potentially romantic moment to the dreaded meeting of the girls' parents, the book is a light, amusing read. (Fiction. 10-14)"
The sequel to Me and Miranda Mullaly (2016) recounts eighth-graders Sam, Duke, and Chollie's largely unsuccessful but often amusing attempts to navigate the minefield that is middle school boy-girl relationships. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MISSILE MOUSE by Jake Parker
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 1, 2010

"Intelligent space opera and a realistically rounded hero will have young fans of the future demanding the next volume. (Graphic fiction. 8-12)"
When his mission to recover an ancient star compass goes wrong, intrepid Galactic Security Agent Missile Mouse finds himself saddled with a partner. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE BOT AND SPARROW by Jake Parker
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 27, 2016

"Dreaming keeps memories alive for a very special robot in this sweet, quiet tale. (Picture book. 4-6)"
A mechanical-avian friendship is an endearing one. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 2008

"Solid research and crisp prose make this Superman book a winner."
Compelling chronicle of the Man of Steel's bumpy ride through Tinseltown. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ONE KID AT A TIME by Jake Dekker
Released: April 13, 2012

"A candid, charismatic glimpse into the ups and downs of a blossoming adoptive father-son duo."
Dekker's heartwarming memoir chronicles the bumpy ride of a modern family coming together amid complicated circumstances. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RENDEZVOUS EIGHTEENTH by Jake Lamar
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 24, 2003

"Lamar (If 6 Were 9, 2001, etc.) breathes life into his Paris, but not into his Candide-like protagonist. And his plot's a muddle."
Love, perversion, and murder among the African-American ex-pats in today's Paris. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LAST BUFFALO HUNTER by Jake Mosher
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 30, 2001

"Mosher covers too much familiar territory to make this a really memorable debut, but it contains enough good things to whet the appetite for his next."
Predictable but often moving first novel about a boy's coming-of-age summer in Montana. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 1, 2003

"Throwbacks, maybe, but Halpern is 'impressed by their fierce pioneer spirit, clearly atavistic, but proudly unyielding.' You will be, too. (12 b&w photos)"
Five choice samples from Halpern's journalistic beat of "outlandish and often hellish [places] inhabited by a handful of stalwarts who refused to leave." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEATH OF A DAD by Jake Fuchs
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 15, 1998

"Fuchs's debut novel is a low-rent Berkeley Compromising Positions that's stronger on milieu—especially the heroine's domestic life—than on plot."
Bullying little tykes, the little tykes— victims, and whining parents pleading every excuse under the sun for some extra accommodation—all the everyday crises Maren Matthews is used to dealing with at the Hillside School get elbowed aside by the discovery of Caleb O'Boyle's father Malcolm, bashed to death on the cornmeal table. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MESSED UP IN MISSOULA by Jake Orlo
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 29, 2014

"An often engaging, if uneven, mystery novel."
Orlo's debut crime novel offers complicated, compelling characters. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Silvanus Supremacy by Jake Rider
Released: Dec. 7, 2013

"A thrilling, environmentally conscious romp in the tradition of Artemis Fowl, Alex Rider and the young Indiana Jones."
A teenager seeking answers in the wake of his mother's disappearance is drawn into a shadowy world of assassins, espionage and over-the-top adventure in Rider's debut YA novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ASKING ANNA by Jake Seliger
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 16, 2014

"Love him or hate him, Steven weighs his options with a unique and strong voice as he searches for the value of commitment in a hookup culture."
In Seliger's quirky debut, a 20-something who's reluctant to propose to his girlfriend brings her to Seattle to visit old friends before he makes his final decision. Read full book review >