Search Results: "Jake Harris"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 23, 2013

"An unflinching portrait that will surely satisfy Harris' fans."
A candid narrative deconstructs the turbulent personal and professional life of the late Deadliest Catch star Phil Harris. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE BOT AND SPARROW by Jake Parker
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 27, 2016

"Dreaming keeps memories alive for a very special robot in this sweet, quiet tale. (Picture book. 4-6)"
A mechanical-avian friendship is an endearing one. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MISSILE MOUSE by Jake Parker
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 1, 2010

"Intelligent space opera and a realistically rounded hero will have young fans of the future demanding the next volume. (Graphic fiction. 8-12)"
When his mission to recover an ancient star compass goes wrong, intrepid Galactic Security Agent Missile Mouse finds himself saddled with a partner. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

JESSICA B. HARRIS
by Maya Payne Smart

Scenic and engaging, My Soul Looks Back recounts the years author Jessica B. Harris spent on the periphery of a circle of friends that included literary powerhouses James Baldwin, Maya Angelou, and Toni Morrison. The memoir spans the globe and several decades to describe the fascinating group.

Harris was in a relationship with Baldwin’s close friend Samuel Clemens Floyd III ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LAST BUFFALO HUNTER by Jake Mosher
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 30, 2001

"Mosher covers too much familiar territory to make this a really memorable debut, but it contains enough good things to whet the appetite for his next."
Predictable but often moving first novel about a boy's coming-of-age summer in Montana. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 1, 2003

"Throwbacks, maybe, but Halpern is 'impressed by their fierce pioneer spirit, clearly atavistic, but proudly unyielding.' You will be, too. (12 b&w photos)"
Five choice samples from Halpern's journalistic beat of "outlandish and often hellish [places] inhabited by a handful of stalwarts who refused to leave." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 2008

"Solid research and crisp prose make this Superman book a winner."
Compelling chronicle of the Man of Steel's bumpy ride through Tinseltown. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RENDEZVOUS EIGHTEENTH by Jake Lamar
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 24, 2003

"Lamar (If 6 Were 9, 2001, etc.) breathes life into his Paris, but not into his Candide-like protagonist. And his plot's a muddle."
Love, perversion, and murder among the African-American ex-pats in today's Paris. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Silvanus Supremacy by Jake Rider
Released: Dec. 7, 2013

"A thrilling, environmentally conscious romp in the tradition of Artemis Fowl, Alex Rider and the young Indiana Jones."
A teenager seeking answers in the wake of his mother's disappearance is drawn into a shadowy world of assassins, espionage and over-the-top adventure in Rider's debut YA novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RAMPAGE IN MISSOULA by Jake Orlo
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 23, 2016

"An absorbing investigation energizes both the plot and the tough-guy lead."
In Orlo's (The Christmas Cougar, 2015, etc.) thriller, a Montana cop hunts his partner's assailant. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TRUECRIME by Jake Arnott
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2004

"The big buildup leads to the big letdown."
A thriller that promises something new ends up delivering something old. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MESSED UP IN MISSOULA by Jake Orlo
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 29, 2014

"An often engaging, if uneven, mystery novel."
Orlo's debut crime novel offers complicated, compelling characters. Read full book review >