Search Results: "Jake Marcionette"


BOOK REVIEW

JUST JAKE by Jake Marcionette
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 4, 2014

"It's an eye-catching read without a whole lot of depth. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Sixth-grader Jake Mathews' popularity has just fallen "off a cliff and [sunk] to the bottom of the ocean." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DOG EAT DOG by Jake Marcionette
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 31, 2015

"Jake Mathews' 'AWESOMENESS' is legit, and fans will be clamoring for more. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Wunderkind Marcionette returns with another tale about his gifted preteen, Just Jake (2014). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MISSILE MOUSE by Jake Parker
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 1, 2010

"Intelligent space opera and a realistically rounded hero will have young fans of the future demanding the next volume. (Graphic fiction. 8-12)"
When his mission to recover an ancient star compass goes wrong, intrepid Galactic Security Agent Missile Mouse finds himself saddled with a partner. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CASTRATION CELEBRATION by Jake Wizner
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: May 26, 2009

"Nonetheless, the title and content guarantee that this volume will be stolen from library shelves everywhere. (Fiction. YA)"
Max, an actor, and Olivia, a playwright, meet at drama camp when Max trips over Olivia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DISAPPEARING AMERICAN FARM by Jake Goldberg
NONFICTION
Released: April 1, 1996

"Despite the promising topic, most readers will be bored by the less-than-focused discussion of how farming has been transformed into the business it is today. (b&w photos, charts, bibliography, index) (Nonfiction. 14-18)"
This book begins strongly, with a good history of farming in the US, but soon moves into a confusing discussion of the farm ``problem''—farmers continue to outproduce the needs of the country, causing the federal government to step in with subsidies that now comprise the third largest entitlement program after Social Security and Medicare. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BITTERSWEET IN THE BITTERROOT by Jake Orlo
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 10, 2014

"Murder, meth and mystery in Montana. In a word: marvelous."
Revolving around a young FBI agent on her first case, this seamless fusion of thriller and police procedural is tonally comparable to Thomas Harris' iconic The Silence of the Lambs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 13, 2012

"A timely indictment of a thoughtless waste of young American lives."
An ABC News senior White House correspondent chronicles the short life of a doomed American Army outpost. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLOSE TO THE BONE by Jake Lamar
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 3, 1999

"What remains, then, is the search for satisfying sexual relationships, and, in exploring this, the author takes few risks—and offers few insights. (Author tour)"
iece places five men—Hal Hardaway, Walker Dupree, Jojo, Dr. Emmett Mercy, and Charlie Beers—at Dr. Mercy's Black Pride seminar. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HOUSE OF RUMOUR by Jake Arnott
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 19, 2013

"A novel that combines the pleasures of genre fiction and the thematic richness of literary fiction, while blurring the line between the two and exploding the very concept of genre."
An audaciously ambitious novel that takes great creative risks and, against considerable odds, makes most of them pay dividends. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Silvanus Supremacy by Jake Rider
Released: Dec. 7, 2013

"A thrilling, environmentally conscious romp in the tradition of Artemis Fowl, Alex Rider and the young Indiana Jones."
A teenager seeking answers in the wake of his mother's disappearance is drawn into a shadowy world of assassins, espionage and over-the-top adventure in Rider's debut YA novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEATH OF A DAD by Jake Fuchs
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 15, 1998

"Fuchs's debut novel is a low-rent Berkeley Compromising Positions that's stronger on milieu—especially the heroine's domestic life—than on plot."
Bullying little tykes, the little tykes— victims, and whining parents pleading every excuse under the sun for some extra accommodation—all the everyday crises Maren Matthews is used to dealing with at the Hillside School get elbowed aside by the discovery of Caleb O'Boyle's father Malcolm, bashed to death on the cornmeal table. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RENDEZVOUS EIGHTEENTH by Jake Lamar
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 24, 2003

"Lamar (If 6 Were 9, 2001, etc.) breathes life into his Paris, but not into his Candide-like protagonist. And his plot's a muddle."
Love, perversion, and murder among the African-American ex-pats in today's Paris. Read full book review >