Search Results: "Jake Tapper"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 13, 2012

"A timely indictment of a thoughtless waste of young American lives."
An ABC News senior White House correspondent chronicles the short life of a doomed American Army outpost. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RENDEZVOUS EIGHTEENTH by Jake Lamar
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 24, 2003

"Lamar (If 6 Were 9, 2001, etc.) breathes life into his Paris, but not into his Candide-like protagonist. And his plot's a muddle."
Love, perversion, and murder among the African-American ex-pats in today's Paris. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RAMPAGE IN MISSOULA by Jake Orlo
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 23, 2016

"An absorbing investigation energizes both the plot and the tough-guy lead."
In Orlo's (The Christmas Cougar, 2015, etc.) thriller, a Montana cop hunts his partner's assailant. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 2008

"Solid research and crisp prose make this Superman book a winner."
Compelling chronicle of the Man of Steel's bumpy ride through Tinseltown. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEATH OF A DAD by Jake Fuchs
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 15, 1998

"Fuchs's debut novel is a low-rent Berkeley Compromising Positions that's stronger on milieu—especially the heroine's domestic life—than on plot."
Bullying little tykes, the little tykes— victims, and whining parents pleading every excuse under the sun for some extra accommodation—all the everyday crises Maren Matthews is used to dealing with at the Hillside School get elbowed aside by the discovery of Caleb O'Boyle's father Malcolm, bashed to death on the cornmeal table. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 1, 2003

"Throwbacks, maybe, but Halpern is 'impressed by their fierce pioneer spirit, clearly atavistic, but proudly unyielding.' You will be, too. (12 b&w photos)"
Five choice samples from Halpern's journalistic beat of "outlandish and often hellish [places] inhabited by a handful of stalwarts who refused to leave." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TRUECRIME by Jake Arnott
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2004

"The big buildup leads to the big letdown."
A thriller that promises something new ends up delivering something old. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Silvanus Supremacy by Jake Rider
Released: Dec. 7, 2013

"A thrilling, environmentally conscious romp in the tradition of Artemis Fowl, Alex Rider and the young Indiana Jones."
A teenager seeking answers in the wake of his mother's disappearance is drawn into a shadowy world of assassins, espionage and over-the-top adventure in Rider's debut YA novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ONE KID AT A TIME by Jake Dekker
Released: April 13, 2012

"A candid, charismatic glimpse into the ups and downs of a blossoming adoptive father-son duo."
Dekker's heartwarming memoir chronicles the bumpy ride of a modern family coming together amid complicated circumstances. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MESSED UP IN MISSOULA by Jake Orlo
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 29, 2014

"An often engaging, if uneven, mystery novel."
Orlo's debut crime novel offers complicated, compelling characters. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ASKING ANNA by Jake Seliger
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 16, 2014

"Love him or hate him, Steven weighs his options with a unique and strong voice as he searches for the value of commitment in a hookup culture."
In Seliger's quirky debut, a 20-something who's reluctant to propose to his girlfriend brings her to Seattle to visit old friends before he makes his final decision. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LAST BUFFALO HUNTER by Jake Mosher
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 30, 2001

"Mosher covers too much familiar territory to make this a really memorable debut, but it contains enough good things to whet the appetite for his next."
Predictable but often moving first novel about a boy's coming-of-age summer in Montana. Read full book review >