Search Results: "James McMullan"


BOOK REVIEW

LEAVING CHINA by James McMullan
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 11, 2014

"A poignant glimpse into an artist in the making. (Memoir. 12-16)"
Internationally acclaimed illustrator McMullan (I'm Fast, 2012), best known for Lincoln Center Theater posters and picture books with his wife, reflects on his childhood in China and wartime journeys in search of home. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I STINK! by Kate McMullan
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2002

"Preschoolers and kindergartners who are fascinated by trucks and trash will eat this up. (Picture book. 3-7)"
He's dirty; he's huge; he eats disgusting garbage; and he's gleefully stinky. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PAPA'S SONG by Kate McMullan
ANIMALS
Released: April 5, 2000

"A cozy read aloud, young children will find it hard to resist the soporific spell of this perfect bedtime story. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A bright-eyed, bushy-tailed Baby Bear turns the Bear household topsy-turvy until Papa Bear's ingenious idea saves the night. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I'M COOL! by Kate McMullan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 6, 2015

"Who knew ice could be this much fun? (Picture book. 4-8)"
Adding to their list of many vehicular tributes, the McMullans take on an often overlooked large machine—the Zamboni. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I'M BRAVE! by Kate McMullan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 2, 2014

"For those kids who dream of the station, the fire pole and the calls, this will be an exciting ride. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The McMullans' latest collaboration, following other transportation-themed books (plus a T. Rex), looks at the important job of a fire engine. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NOEL THE FIRST by Kate McMullan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 31, 1996

"Unusually thoughtful readers may pull the larger lesson out, but to most, this tidy episode will seem both minor and visually claustrophobic. (Picture book. 6-8)"
The McMullans follow up Nutcracker Noel (1994) with a slight tale that bears only traces of the same wit and vibrancy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I'M FAST! by Kate McMullan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 1, 2012

"Preschoolers will most likely warm to the good-natured competition between car and train, and parents and teachers will appreciate the friendly conclusion. But for those looking for a standout title in the multitude of things-that-go stories, there is little here that would warrant a repeat journey. (Picture book. 3-5)"
The usually dynamic McMullan duo (I Stink!, 2002) stalls with their sixth title, which stars an uber-confident train that accepts a challenge to race an equally self-assured sports car. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I'M BIG! by Kate McMullan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

"Add art composed of out-of-focus figures in dull purples and greens, and the total's a roaring disappointment. (Picture book. 3-6)"
In this fourth and weakest companion to the instant classic I Stink! (2002), a "super-sorry sauropod" sleeps through his herd's departure and so—sounding just like the trucks and the T. Rex in previous iterations: "Wanna help me find my pack? / Awright, let's get a move on"—sets off across the prehistoric landscape in pursuit. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NUTCRACKER NOEL by Kate McMullan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 1993

"A delightful addition to the annals of young performers. (Picture book. 3-8)"
Noel dreams of being a star in a ``real'' ballet, but alas- -in her class production she's only a tree, while arch-rival Mia, of the winsome curls and doting mother, is a gingerbread doll. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I'M SMART! by Kate McMullan
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2017

"Takes credit away from the human bus drivers, who deserve a book of their own. (Picture book. 4-7)"
As Adam Rex and Christian Robinson's School's First Day of School (2016) gave readers a school building's point of view, the McMullans now give kids a peek inside the mind of a school bus. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I’M BAD! by Kate McMullan
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2008

"From the bright, heavy-lined watercolors to the braggadocio kids will revel in, this is an easy choice for multiple-copy purchases. (Picture book. 3-8)"
"Are you BAD? / I'm REALLY bad. / Scare-the-tails-off-all-the-other-dinosaurs / BAD." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I’M DIRTY! by Kate McMullan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2006

"Full of kid appeal, this is sure to be a favorite with reluctant readers, those who revel in mud and all who love trucks. (Picture book. 4-8)"
From the creators of I Stink! (2002) and I'm Mighty! (2003) comes Backhoe Loader, a construction vehicle that is ready for business. Read full book review >