Search Results: "James P. Muehlberger"


BOOK REVIEW

THE LOST CAUSE by James P. Muehlberger
NON-FICTION
Released: June 3, 2013

"Of possible interest to Jesse James and/or Civil War buffs, but not to a wider audience."
A Missouri legal historian's well-researched but lackluster answer to the question of whether Jesse James was "the last great rebel of the Civil War or the first notorious robber after [it]." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 14, 1997

"A highly readable chronicle of a remarkable man, and an exciting account of decisive incidents in naval history. (25 photos, 6 maps, not seen)"
An admirably researched history of the long, successful career of America's first admiral and a popular hero of the Civil War, who is best remembered for his famous order in the heat of the battle at Mobile Bay, ``Damn the torpedoes, full steam ahead!'' To complement (and correct) the mainly army perspective found in most Civil War histories, Duffy (Target Hitler, not reviewed, etc.) presents a record of the frequently overlooked naval aspects of that conflict, as reflected in the career of David Farragut. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FUTURIST by James P. Othmer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 6, 2006

"A shrewd, funny and sometimes brutal vision of troubled times."
A geopolitical thriller that aims to please everybody: less gunplay than Tom Clancy, more yuks than Don DeLillo. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LEGEND THAT WAS EARTH by James P. Hogan
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Oct. 1, 2000

"Intriguing and thoughtful, with an agreeably ironic edge."
Alien-visitation yarn from the author of Cradle of Saturn (1999), etc. When the staid, regimented humanoid Hyadeans arrive on Earth with their advanced science—based on dull practicality, not theory—many Western governments and their rich, powerful backers jump to form alliances with them. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 12, 1995

"Intelligent and entertaining, Pinkerton offers some fodder for policy wonks, although his ideas do not amount to the promised conceptual sea change in our way of thinking about government."
In a diverting commentary on our increasingly dysfunctional political system, Newsday columnist and former Bush policy advisor Pinkerton predicts the imminent demise of bureaucracy and the rise of a ``new paradigm'' of government. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NIGHT RELICS by James P. Blaylock
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: March 1, 1994

"Superb characters and setting, in a plot that meshes seamlessly—the single cavil being that it goes on too long: we learn what's happening well before the characters do."
Fairly orthodox ghost story set in the California hill country, from the author of The Paper Grail, Lord Kelvin's Machine, etc. Peter Travers is trying to put his failed marriage behind him and enter into a new relationship with girlfriend Beth. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REALTIME INTERRUPT by James P. Hogan
Released: Feb. 15, 1995

"Predictable, prolonged, and lacking punch, the only emeralds offered in this Oz are the gratuitous Irish jokes Hogan seems to cherish."
A tepid thriller by Hogan (The Proteus Operation, 1985) that asks, is it live or virtual reality? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE IMMORTALITY OPTION by James P. Hogan
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Feb. 1, 1995

"A beguiling and diverting yarn—once again, its benignly satirical elements help—that totters towards success despite a plot that grows increasingly more absurd."
The belated sequel to Code of the Lifemaker (1983), Hogan's mildly satirical tale featuring an ecology composed entirely of machines derived from an alien factory that went haywire on Saturn's frigid, smoggy moon, Titan, a million years ago. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARTIAN KNIGHTLIFE by James P. Hogan
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Oct. 1, 2001

"Pleasant but featherweight, and a pretty thin stretch even at this modest length."
In the tradition of Leslie Charteris's Saint and Jack Vance's Magnus Ridolph, etc., two long interconnected stories featuring Kieran "Knight" Thane, a medium-future knight errant who rights wrongs, cons the conmen and swindles the swindlers while bolstering his personal retirement fund: from the author of The Legend That Was Earth (2000), etc. In the first adventure, Kieran arrives on Mars after wandering the solar system and meets up with his longtime friend June Holland. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 5, 2016

"Duffy's portrait of the South Pacific is an entertaining and well-researched war history that will satisfy intrigued novices and devoted students alike."
A history of the battle for the island of New Guinea during World War II. Read full book review >