Search Results: "James Whitfield Thomson"


BOOK REVIEW

LIES YOU WANTED TO HEAR by James Whitfield Thomson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 5, 2013

"Relentlessly grim melodrama, in the vein of Ordinary People and Kramer vs. Kramer."
First-time novelist Thomson explores the excruciating pain of a marriage gone wrong in this dreary tale stretched out over two decades. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JO GAR’S CASEBOOK by Raoul Whitfield
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 25, 2003

"Black Mask fans will be especially intrigued to find just how quiet stories can be without losing their hardboiled edge."
Although best known as the author of the hardboiled novel Green Ice (1930), Whitfield was in his time (1897-1945) one of the most popular and prolific suppliers of short fiction to Black Mask. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT LINCOLN SAID by Sarah L. Thomson
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Jan. 1, 2009

"A solid introduction, although source notes are lacking. (timeline, author's, illustrator's notes) (Picture book/biography. 6-9)"
As a young lad, Abraham Lincoln learned the importance of an honest wage, and his work ethic garnered results. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PICKFORD by Eileen Whitfield
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 1, 1997

"Any record of these losses, even an unremarkable one such as Whitfield's, thus ought to be valued by those who care about film. (60 b&w photos, not seen)"
A capable account of the life and times of one of the greats of the silent-movie era. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOMETHING'S WRONG WITH YOUR SCALE! by Van Whitfield
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 1999

"Amusing, but little else."
Whitfield's second novel (after Beeperless Remote, 1996), a romantic comedy set in the social swarm of contemporary weight-loss culture, is just about as thin as the characters wish their stomachs were. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IN GREAT WATERS by Kit Whitfield
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Nov. 1, 2009

"Refreshingly unusual work from a writer to watch."
Whitfield (Benighted, 2006) delivers a tale of royal intrigue and undersea fantasy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GUYS IN SUITS by Van Whitfield
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 1, 2001

"Entertainment Lite: wisecracking and contrived."
Whitfield (Something's Wrong With Your Scale!, 1999, etc.) returns to that trendy urban landscape where would-be cool black guys hang out trying to make the right moves on their women. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IN SEARCH OF AMERICAN JEWISH CULTURE by Stephen J. Whitfield
NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 24, 1999

"If readers can stay with him that long, they may be rewarded for the effort."
Whitfield (American Studies/Brandeis; A Death in the Delta: The Life of Emmett Till, 1988) examines the complex interplay between Jewish newcomers to the US and the culture they helped shape. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TYPEWRITER by Bill Thomson
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 8, 2016

"Words rule in this intriguing, impressive, imaginative, nearly wordless narrative drama. (Picturebook. 5-9)"
Three kids find an old typewriter, igniting spectacular surprises when they start playing with it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ADVENTURE
Released: June 1, 2004

"Better written than the usual teen thriller fare, the series promises to hook readers with suspense, action, and adolescent romance. (Fiction. YA)"
This sci-fi thriller with a dose of high-school angst is the first in a series. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VISUAL MAGIC by David Thomson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 1991

"A dandy introduction to the concept of perception. (Nonfiction. 9-12)"
An intriguing compilation of optical illusions: images that sort themselves out when studied or that can be read more than one way; op art; an Escher; pictures that gain a third dimension when viewed through the special glasses provided, etc. Several of these have appeared elsewhere, but it's instructive to have them together in this handy eight-inch square book—especially with Thomson's brief but lucid explanations of what is happening when the eye and mind try to decipher images that are designed to confuse them. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THREE BLACK BOYS by Zangba  Thomson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 5, 2008

"Structural flaws can't undermine the raw power of this stark, timely story about life in the urban underbelly."
West African author mines the hardscrabble life of young inner-city thugs. Read full book review >