Search Results: "James Wolcott"


BOOK REVIEW

THE CATSITTERS by James Wolcott
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 1, 2001

Fans of critic Wolcott, who's written some of the funniest, most penetrating cultural reviews of the last 25 years, will be surprised by this, his first book, a novel that's so milquetoast you have to wonder if it's really by the same James Wolcott, scourge of shabby prose and shoddy thinking. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CRITICAL MASS by James Wolcott
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Oct. 15, 2013

"An eclectic collection that reasserts the author's reputation as one of America's most perceptive, candid and humane critics."
A veteran culture critic for Vanity Fair and other publications weighs in and waxes wise on TV, comedians, music, movies, books and writers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 25, 2011

"Gives the lie to the belief that the '70s contained nothing but disco decadence and self-help solipsism."
Longtime Vanity Fair cultural critic Wolcott (Attack Poodles and Other Media Mutants, 2004, etc.) celebrates the Big Apple as a haven for the writers, artists, musicians and eccentrics who thrived at its core in the 1970s. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 1, 2004

"Forceful nay-saying, buttressed by a few sensible ideas on how to neutralize the nonsense-purveyers."
A bit of an attack dog himself, Vanity Fair cultural critic and novelist Wolcott (The Catsitters, 2001) hoists the gasbags of the mass media on their own petards. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I AM ME by Karla Kuskin
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2000

"An upbeat, happy, colorful little story with a lesson for grown-ups. (Picture book. 3-6)"
In a variation on the familiar phrase "You look just like . . . , " Kuskin's (The Sky Is Always in the Sky, 1998, etc.) heroine has her aunt Grace's smile, her grandma's eyebrows, and her father's feet, except for her little toe, which is a lot more like Aunt Jen's. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CURLEE GIRLEE by Atara Twersky
Released: Nov. 15, 2016

"A charmingly illustrated book with a strong heroine, a solid message, and an accessible vocabulary for newly independent readers."
Pink, glitter, and a curly-haired protagonist shout out the girl appeal of this lesson about accepting who you are and how you look. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

SOME THOUGHTS ON LOVE
by Bobbi Dumas

Hi friends!

So many people make New Year’s Resolutions to start the year, but for the second January in a row, I’ll be contemplating memories and saying good-byes.

My husband lost his father this week.

There’s a lot of emotion to visit, of course, though he suffered from memory issues and so, in many ways, his family has said their ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

SPRINGING INTO MUST-READ CONTEMPORARY & SUSPENSE
by Bobbi Dumas

April is here, though you wouldn’t know it from my window view - snow is falling! (sigh) Thankfully it’s not sticking, and according to the forecast, it will be seventy degrees by the weekend. Mother Nature seems to be slightly confused in the Midwest this spring, and the national news can make my heart feel cold, but I’m glad we can ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

CROWNING ACHIEVEMENT
by Julie Danielson

To say that Derrick Barnes and Gordon C. James knocked their first picture book out of the ballpark would be an understatement about a book with very little that is understated about it. In the short time it’s been on shelves, Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut has garnered a host of starred reviews and much-deserved praise.

This rhythmic ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

AWESOME OCTOBER
by Bobbi Dumas

Oh wow, too many great titles out this month!

I’m almost finished with Sherry Thomas’ second Charlotte Holmes/Sherlock Holmes book,  A Conspiracy in Belgravia and it’s just fabulous (full disclosure, Sherry Thomas sent me the audio CDs because I couldn’t get them from the audio publisher, but anyone who knows me knows I love everything she writes and ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

OLD MACDONALD HAD A FARM by James Dean
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 18, 2014

"'Old MacDonald' for narcoleptics. (Picture book. 3-5)"
The heavy-lidded cat with a cult following dons overalls for a trip to the farm. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PETE THE CAT: PLAY BALL! by James Dean
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2012

"No home run here. (Early reader. 3-5)"
Ultracool Pete the Cat turns his attention to baseball. Read full book review >