Search Results: "James P. Hogan"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: March 1, 1998

"Plentiful diagrams and practical examples give the nontechnical reader an insight into Hogan's often complex arguments, but the computer-literate are the most natural audience for this challenging exploration."
A survey of the current state of computer intelligence research, from a science-fiction writer (The Immortality Option, 1995, etc.) whose novels have often dealt with the subject. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARTIAN KNIGHTLIFE by James P. Hogan
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Oct. 1, 2001

"Pleasant but featherweight, and a pretty thin stretch even at this modest length."
In the tradition of Leslie Charteris's Saint and Jack Vance's Magnus Ridolph, etc., two long interconnected stories featuring Kieran "Knight" Thane, a medium-future knight errant who rights wrongs, cons the conmen and swindles the swindlers while bolstering his personal retirement fund: from the author of The Legend That Was Earth (2000), etc. In the first adventure, Kieran arrives on Mars after wandering the solar system and meets up with his longtime friend June Holland. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REALTIME INTERRUPT by James P. Hogan
Released: Feb. 15, 1995

"Predictable, prolonged, and lacking punch, the only emeralds offered in this Oz are the gratuitous Irish jokes Hogan seems to cherish."
A tepid thriller by Hogan (The Proteus Operation, 1985) that asks, is it live or virtual reality? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE IMMORTALITY OPTION by James P. Hogan
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Feb. 1, 1995

"A beguiling and diverting yarn—once again, its benignly satirical elements help—that totters towards success despite a plot that grows increasingly more absurd."
The belated sequel to Code of the Lifemaker (1983), Hogan's mildly satirical tale featuring an ecology composed entirely of machines derived from an alien factory that went haywire on Saturn's frigid, smoggy moon, Titan, a million years ago. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MISSION TO MINERVA by James P. Hogan
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: May 1, 2005

"For die-hard fans only."
Latest in the Giants' Star series. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BUG PARK by James P. Hogan
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: April 1, 1997

"Charming and remarkable microengineering and astounding microperspectives, coupled with an old-hat evil-stepmother plot and its predictable complications: Root for the little guys, tolerate the remainder."
Hogan's latest near-future speculation (Realtime Interrupt, 1995, etc.) involves insect-sized miniature machines: Originally developed to assemble true nanomachines, these prove to have other more startling applications. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LEGEND THAT WAS EARTH by James P. Hogan
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Oct. 1, 2000

"Intriguing and thoughtful, with an agreeably ironic edge."
Alien-visitation yarn from the author of Cradle of Saturn (1999), etc. When the staid, regimented humanoid Hyadeans arrive on Earth with their advanced science—based on dull practicality, not theory—many Western governments and their rich, powerful backers jump to form alliances with them. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

P by Andrew Lewis Conn
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 2003

"A writer to watch."
Patterned on Ulysses, crammed with an entire liberal arts education, this debut's vast ambition goes up against Conn's obvious and genuine talent: against all odds, talent wins. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHO P-P-P-PLUGGED ROGER RABBIT? by Gary K. Wolf
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 12, 1991

"The perfect bookstore browse, though most readers will have had their fill before reaching the register."
Wolf's sequel to Who Censured Roger Rabbit?, the basis for the wildly successful film, presents private eye Eddie Valiant with some conflicting jobs: Roger Rabbit wants him to find out whether Clark Gable's beaten him out for the lead in Gone With the Wind—as well as out of wife Jessica's affections; David Selznick wants him to investigate the theft of a mysterious box from his office (the suspects are the three actors auditioning for Rhett Butler: Gable, Baby Herman, and Roger); Gable wants Eddie to find out who's been planting tabloid stories that say he's gay; and the murder of shadowy toon Kirk Enigman with Eddie's own gun sparks a search for the secret formula for Toon Tonic, which turns people into animated Toons (and vice versa). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

J. P. by John Mooers
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 31, 2013

"A history buff's guilty pleasure, offering a behind-the-scenes peek into the world of a man whose impact on society lasts to this day."
A historical novel that paints an intimate portrait of J.P. Morgan, U.S. banker, financier and philanthropist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GHOST OF ERNIE P. by Betty Ren Wright
Released: Oct. 15, 1990

Though he remembers Ernie as a minor bully and a major pest (Ernie died in a fall from a slide while he was teasing younger kids), Jeff tries to be tactful when everyone assumes that he's mourning his best friend. Read full book review >