Search Results: "Jan Adkins"


BOOK REVIEW

WHAT IF YOU MET A COWBOY? by Jan Adkins
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 27, 2014

"As Wild Bill Hickok 'says' in his blurb: 'Factual as far as it goes.' (glossary, further reading, index) (Nonfiction. 8-10)"
Following other books in the What if You Met…(a Pirate, 2004; a Knight, 2006) series, this title somewhat less successfully tackles the subject of cowboys. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STRING by Jan Adkins
NONFICTION
Released: April 30, 1992

"Index. (Nonfiction. 10+)"
Despite a delightfully funny ``Opening Line'' concerning the orneriness of tangled string (``it has a nasty mind of its own''), the title here is something of a misnomer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BERTHA TAKES A DRIVE by Jan Adkins
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 3, 2017

"Even though grandmother meets the Motorwagen with the same disgruntlement as the emperor, everybody else cheers the contraption's epic voyage. (timeline, schematics, afterword) (Picture book. 6-10)"
Over the river and through the woods, to grandmother's house we go; we steal father's car, we are going quite far, and mother cooks up the whole show. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT IF YOU MET A KNIGHT? by Jan Adkins
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2006

"The Code of Chivalry was very sweet, but an ambitious knight went about whacking off arms and heads as often as possible." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT IF YOU MET A PIRATE? by Jan Adkins
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2004

Adkins rejects the conventional glamorous image of the pirate to construct a scruffier, though only slightly less romanticized, one in this sweeping history of privateers, buccaneers, freebooters, and similar nautical nogoodnicks. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 20, 2007

"This real-life action will delight fans of fictional heroes from the same war—Horatio Hornblower (C.S. Forester) and Richard Sharpe (Bernard Cornwell)."
Sumptuous storytelling recreates the first worldwide war. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 2000

"The authors know their Egyptology, and in them Champollion has found worthy champions. Their highly readable account will be of wide interest to students of ancient history and cryptology—and to anyone who enjoys a bookish detective story."
A taut story of 19th-century scholarly research by husband-and-wife archaeologists, with lashes of intrigue and scandal thrown in for good measure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JANE AUSTEN'S ENGLAND by Roy Adkins
NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 19, 2013

"For fans of Austen and English history, a deeply informative picture of Regency life."
It wasn't all courtship, corsets and carriages—the grim reality behind a great author's world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Dec. 13, 2004

"Well-told story of a life dedicated to scholarship, with great adventures and derring-do an unexpected bonus."
A surprisingly action-packed biography of the soldier, adventurer, athlete, scholar, and diplomat whose exploits in deciphering cuneiform scripts literally forced a revelation of the originality and depth of ancient Mesopotamian cultures onto a skeptical Western world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NELSON’S TRAFALGAR by Roy Adkins
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 1, 2005

"All involved receive due honor here. A boon for buffs of the Napoleonic Wars, and a sturdy complement to Adam Nicolson's more exuberant Seize the Fire."
A thoroughgoing study of the most famous sea battle of the Napoleonic era, timed for its bicentenary. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ORDINARY OSCAR by Laura Adkins
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

"Nonstop drollery for adventurous children and the adults who read to them. (Picture book. 3-7)"
One little snail has big dreams. Read full book review >