Search Results: "Jan Costin Wagner"


BOOK REVIEW

SILENCE by Jan Costin Wagner
Released: Dec. 15, 2011

"What is it about those Scandinavians? Though Wagner's cops get along equably enough, there's precious little oxygen between the other characters, who seem to be carrying all the torment his striking debut reserved for the hero."
Now widowed of the beloved helpmeet who was dying in Ice Moon (2007), detective Kimmo Joentaa, of the Turko CID, grapples with a second, equally chilling case. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ICE MOON by Jan Costin Wagner
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 1, 2007

"A stylish and creepy mystery, expertly paced."
In this first English translation from an acclaimed German author, a Finnish detective grapples with grief while hunting for a serial killer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Suspended Life by Monel Costin
FICTION & LITERATURE

"A human tale of ordinary people living under the extraordinary conditions of totalitarian authority."
As in Costin's previous novel, Daniel's Jews and Jewish Ripple (2013), this work examines power, privilege and everyday life under communist rule. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEIZURE by Erica Wagner
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2007

"Wagner's clean, sturdy prose imparts an inevitability to what is taboo, but some gratuitous mystification prevents a complete surrender to her spell."
The elemental passions of two siblings fuel this first novel, whose contemporary trappings fall away to reveal a fable outside time. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE EMPTY CHAIR by Bruce Wagner
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 26, 2013

"Wagner meditates on our fundamental cravings for connections—both human and divine—and meanings—both personal and cosmic—with wit, compassion and a sharp eye for the lies we tell ourselves."
Casting himself as a story collector, Wagner links two novellas, two narratives separated in time yet bound by a common motif: the empty chair, where loss, grief and death are seated. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WHITE ASSASSIN by Hilary Wagner
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"The ending satisfies, but there are some definite loose ends. Look forward to more adventures in Nightshade City. (Animal fantasy. 9-12)"
The second installment of The Nightshade Chronicles doesn't disappoint. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Conquest Defiled by Robert Wagner
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 4, 2013

"A tale of war, love and religious strife by a promising new novelist."
A young man struggles against family, church and state to find love and a life of his own. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 2009

"Unflinching, humorous and heartfelt."
Print and public-radio journalist Wagner describes rebuilding after Hurricane Katrina. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FORCE MAJEURE by Bruce Wagner
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 1, 1991

"Richly done boffo winner."
Smashing debut novel in which screenwriter Bud Wiggin, a Thomas Wolfe for failed screenwriters, seems to be a stand-in for author Wagner—screenwriter of the stupid but successful Scenes from the Class Struggle in Beverly Hills and Nightmare on Elm Street 3. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NIGHTSHADE CITY by Hilary Wagner
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2010

"A good story well-told. (Animal fantasy. 10-14)"
Fans of Suzanne Collins's Underland Chronicles and Brian Jacques's Redwall series will enjoy this fast-paced adventure set deep in the Catacombs, where a community of intelligent rats lives in peace and harmony. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CHRYSANTHEMUM PALACE by Bruce Wagner
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2005

"Smart, high-gloss slur of fame, drugs and the fateful weight of family."
A recovering addict, an egomaniacal actor with daddy issues, and an underperforming wannabe make for a particularly LA dysfunctional trio. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MEMORIAL by Bruce Wagner
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 5, 2006

"Brilliant, entropic fiction that sometimes spins off into its own narcissistic void."
SoCal chronicler extraordinaire (Still Holding, 2003, etc.) goes deep with a portrait of a terminally self-destructive family. Read full book review >