Search Results: "Jane Dyer"


BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE BROWN BEAR WON’T GO TO SCHOOL! by Jane Dyer
ANIMALS
Released: July 1, 2003

"Little Brown Bear Won't Take a Nap (2002) will love seeing their hero again. (Picture book. 4-7)"
The perennial theme of not wanting to go to school finds Little Brown Bear trekking disconsolately behind Mama Bear with her newspaper and bottled water and Papa Bear with his lunch pail. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PIGGINS by Jane Dyer
illustrated by Jane Dyer, Jane Yolen
Released: March 1, 1987

"There aren't many mysteries available on this level; this one should serve nicely."
In a picture-book mystery for young readers, Yolen pays homage to the world of Upstairs, Downstairs, to Beatrix Potter's animal/human characters, and to not only Agatha Christie but Conan Doyle. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MOVE OVER, ROVER! by Karen Beaumont
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2006

"The bouncy rhymes and expressive paintings complement each other well, melding into a simple but satisfying story that will fit into story hours with themes of rain, dogs, or sharing. (Picture book. 3-6)"
In this cumulative tale in the tradition of The Mitten and Mushroom in the Rain, a fluffy, friendly dog named Rover makes room in his doghouse for a succession of animals seeking shelter from a thunderstorm. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CINDERELLA’S DRESS by Nancy Willard
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2003

"This simply told version, with its rich details of shimmery things will be a lovely addition to any fairytale collection. (Picture book. 4-10)"
Willard, who previously shed new light on everyone from Blake (A Visit to William Blake's Inn, 1981) to Bosch (Pish, Posh, Said Hieronymus Bosch, 1991), now turns her lens on Cinderella. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVERY YEAR ON YOUR BIRTHDAY by Rose Lewis
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2007

"While there are many picture books about adoption, Lewis and Dyer have created another special experience for sharing. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The author and illustrator of the lovely adoption picture book I Love You Like Crazy Cakes (2000) continue the love story experienced by the American mother and her adopted Chinese daughter. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HOUSE THAT'S YOUR HOME by Sally Lloyd-Jones
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 10, 2015

"Visually beautiful but conceptually off the mark. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Lloyd-Jones and Dyer introduce children to the concept of "self" in relation to "place." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HURRY! HURRY! HAVE YOU HEARD? by Laura Krauss Melmed
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2008

"Kids will be in a hurry to hear it again. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Have you heard? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COOKIES by Amy Krouse Rosenthal
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2006

"The last line falls a little flat, but that's balanced by the last image of a bespectacled Yorkshire terrier with a plate of star cookies, a pile of books and a star-spangled nightshirt. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The great sage Cookie Monster intoned that, "C is for Cookie, that's good enough for me." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PATCHWORK LADY by Mary K. Whittington
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 1991

The Patchwork Lady wears ``a plaid dress, argyle stockings, and checkered slippers''; in her house—from her toothpaste to the afghan she's knitting—multicolored designs prevail. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SNOW SPEAKS by Nancy White Carlstrom
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 1992

"A lovely evocation, nicely concluded with a cozy Christmas by the fire—and angels, in snow and sky. (Picture book. 4-8)"
An Alaskan author describes the experience of cold weather and snow with poetic grace and the conviction of one who knows the ``thin, brittle air'' that makes ``nostrils stick together'' and children who must stay ``buttoned, hooded, mittened, zipped'' while shaking snow from the mail. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SANTA CLAUS AND THE THREE BEARS by Maria Modugno
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2013

"And Santa promises Baby Bear a new chair for next Christmas. Just right. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Once upon a time, there was a clever Christmas innovation on the classic tale of Papa, Mama and Baby Bear, with Santa Claus standing in for Goldilocks. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE BROWN BEAR WON’T TAKE A NAP! by Jane Dyer
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2002

"Readers will refuse to nap without this one. (Picture book. 4-7)"
It's hard enough to get preschoolers to lie down for even an hour, but when Little Brown Bear's parents attempt to cajole him into his winter hibernation, the result is a tad more adventurous—and surprising. Read full book review >