Search Results: "Jane Harris"


BOOK REVIEW

THE OBSERVATIONS by Jane Harris
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 19, 2006

"Rollicking and engaging. A confident, fresh, roguishly charming first work."
In her entertaining debut, a British writer hands the job of storytelling to a saucily streetwise servant in Victorian Scotland. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GILLESPIE AND I by Jane Harris
Released: Feb. 1, 2012

"A fine evocation of a lost era, and without a false note."
Elegant novel of love, loss and redemption among the Victorians and Caledonians. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Riven by Jane Alvey Harris
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 24, 2016

"A whirlwind narrative about an imaginative heroine that uses fantasy to offer salvation from abuse."
In this debut fantasy thriller, a teen's real life begins to overlap with a colorful world she thinks she's invented. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TROUBLE WITH CAULIFLOWER by Jane Sutton
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2006

"Spirited watercolor-and-pencil illustrations are full of movement and humor, and the text is freshly funny right up to the hilarious last line. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A delightful tale about the mysterious relationship between food and fortune. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

JESSICA B. HARRIS
by Maya Payne Smart

Scenic and engaging, My Soul Looks Back recounts the years author Jessica B. Harris spent on the periphery of a circle of friends that included literary powerhouses James Baldwin, Maya Angelou, and Toni Morrison. The memoir spans the globe and several decades to describe the fascinating group.

Harris was in a relationship with Baldwin’s close friend Samuel Clemens Floyd III ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ROGUES by Jane Yolen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2007

"A good finish to the quartet, with echoes of Robert Louis Stevenson's Kidnapped to savor. (Fiction. 11-13)"
Yolen and Harris conclude their planned quartet of Scottish novels with this tale of the 18th-century Highland Clearances. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GIRL IN A CAGE by Jane Yolen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2002

"Fans of Karen Cushman's Catherine, Called Birdy (1994) and Matilda Bone (2000) will welcome this new tale of a strong-minded young woman coming of age and holding her own in a hostile medieval world. (Fiction. 11-13)"
Yolen and Harris (Queen's Own Fool, 2000) once again dish up an intense drama drawn from Scottish history. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRINCE ACROSS THE WATER by Jane Yolen
FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 2004

"While the history and lore are compelling, Duncan and his family never quite become living folk to readers, but serve mostly as mechanisms to deliver the story. (Historical fiction. 10+)"
The third in a projected quartet of historical novels about Scottish history takes as its tale that of Bonnie Prince Charlie and the Battle of Culloden in the mid-18th century. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ATALANTA AND THE ARCADIAN BEAST by Jane Yolen
ADVENTURE
Released: March 1, 2003

"An afterword discusses which elements come from Greek literature and which the authors created for this entertaining adventure with its strong heroine. (Fiction. 9-13)"
In their third entry in the "Young Heroes" series, Yolen and Harris (Hippolyta and the Curse of the Amazons, 2002, etc.) craft another fast-paced historical novel set in ancient Greece. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

QUEEN'S OWN FOOL by Jane Yolen
FAIRY TALES, FOLKTALES AND MYTHS
Released: May 1, 2000

"Based deeply in fact and full of detail both luscious and sordid, the story's length will not discourage any reader who picks it up and begins to be enthralled. (Historical fiction. YA)"
With a handful of historical facts and a great deal of research, the prolific and marvelous Yolen has teamed with a Scottish maker of a fantasy board game to spin a historical tale of great immediacy and impact. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2002

Zena fans take heed: Yolen and Harris draw a minor figure from old Greek tales front and center for an edifying, as well as action-filled, encounter with quarreling gods, monsters, rival Amazons, and—ugh—men. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOT, COLD, SHY, BOLD by Pamela Harris
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 1998

"One picture that spans an entire spread—of two girls facing each other—is spoiled because the book's binding falls at a crucial area of the photograph; it shows that their 'how-do-you-do' faces are aimed not at each other, but at the buggy occupant of a jar. (Picture book. 2-4)"
A concept book in photographs that holds nothing new for those familiar with Tana Hoban's or Margaret Miller's work. Read full book review >