Search Results: "Jane Kelley"


BOOK REVIEW

FICTION
Released: Oct. 11, 2010

"Flashes of originality, wit and vivid imagery bring the story to life intermittently, but the distracting improbabilities pull readers out of the story again and again. (author's note) (Fiction. 15 & up)"
Retelling a classic as contemporary fiction is a tricky business, as demonstrated in this uneven rendering of Charlotte Brontë's Jane Eyre as chick lit. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BOOK OF DARES FOR LOST FRIENDS by Jane Kelley
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 14, 2015

"Readers with patience and the willingness to work with the story will find its rewards ample and lasting. (Magical realism. 9-13)"
With the help of Tasman, a singular boy with a troubled history, Val, a good-hearted, well-grounded sixth-grader, tries to harness ancient forces in order to help her best friend, Lanora, whose attempt to "begin again" has gone seriously awry. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GIRL BEHIND THE GLASS by Jane Kelley
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 9, 2011

"Mounting creepiness with well-placed spine-tingling moments make this scary story perfect for fans of Mary Downing Hahn. (Ghost story. 9-12)"
It takes a haunted house to break the bond of identical twins. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NATURE GIRL by Jane Kelley
ADVENTURE
Released: April 27, 2010

"Maybe. (Fiction. 9-13)"
Should readers care enough about the Appalachian Trail experiences of an extremely whiny girl to stick with this effort? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 18, 2012

"A respectful, exciting and disarming update of one of the last century's most oft-told tales."
The old "Me Tarzan, You Jane" dynamic established in Johnny Weismuller movies gets a radical update by shining the spotlight on adventuress Jane Porter. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE EMILY SONNETS by Jane Yolen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 15, 2012

"Overall, though, these poems, illustrations and substantial notes combine well to lend a rounded portrait of this American poet every young reader needs to discover. (Picture book/poetry. 10-14)"
A sonnet sequence encapsulates the biography of one of America's most intriguing poets, Emily Dickinson. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WISTERIA JANE by Amber Harris
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 13, 2015

"A valuable lesson about tact for any age. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A little girl who takes telling the truth too far learns to temper her tongue and make up with a friend. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JANE & MIZMOW by Matthew S.  Armstrong
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"A whimsical, gentle reminder that even the best friendships occasionally wobble, especially if a quirky, but endearing monster's involved. (Picture book. 3-5)"
A little girl and her rather unusual pal quarrel, but they know just how to make up, too, in this charming paean to friendship. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JANE ADDAMS by Louise W. Knight
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 6, 2010

"A sympathetic portrait of—and tribute to—a brave and committed human being."
Biography of social reformer and peace activist Jane Addams (1860-1935). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JANE EYRE by Amy Corzine
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

"Distinctly subpar. (Graphic classic. 13 & up)"
Charlotte Brontë's Jane Eyre may seem a fairly innocuous choice for a graphic-novel adaption, but Corzine proves otherwise. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: Nov. 13, 2006

"Still, it's an important work that will introduce an important American to a new generation of readers. (afterword, bibliography, acknowledgments, index) (Nonfiction. 10-14)"
In her day, Addams was one of the most famous women in America and was known around the world as a social activist, a pacifist, the author of 11 books and winner of the Nobel Peace Prize. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOSTON JANE by Jennifer L. Holm
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2002

"We can only hope that the endearing and occasionally improbable adventures of Boston Jane, with their nicely blended mix of real events and characters inspired by actual pioneers, will continue. (Fiction. 10-14)"
It's now several months since Boston Jane (Boston Jane: An Adventure, 2001) arrived in Shoalwater Bay, Washington Territory, having traveled from proper Philadelphia to marry William and having found William married to another. Read full book review >