Search Results: "Jane Kelley"


BOOK REVIEW

THE BOOK OF DARES FOR LOST FRIENDS by Jane Kelley
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 14, 2015

"Readers with patience and the willingness to work with the story will find its rewards ample and lasting. (Magical realism. 9-13)"
With the help of Tasman, a singular boy with a troubled history, Val, a good-hearted, well-grounded sixth-grader, tries to harness ancient forces in order to help her best friend, Lanora, whose attempt to "begin again" has gone seriously awry. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GIRL BEHIND THE GLASS by Jane Kelley
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 9, 2011

"Mounting creepiness with well-placed spine-tingling moments make this scary story perfect for fans of Mary Downing Hahn. (Ghost story. 9-12)"
It takes a haunted house to break the bond of identical twins. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NATURE GIRL by Jane Kelley
ADVENTURE
Released: April 27, 2010

"Maybe. (Fiction. 9-13)"
Should readers care enough about the Appalachian Trail experiences of an extremely whiny girl to stick with this effort? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OCTO-MAN AND THE HEADLESS MONSTER by Jane Kelley
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"Busy and insubstantial plot plus only mildly amusing illustrations add up to very little. (Fiction. 6-9)"
"Walter isn't a bad boy." That's what Walter's mother always says…and she has to say it a lot. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DOG WHO SAVED SANTA by Y Kelley
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 15, 2008

"Though it's a little strange to see an adolescent slacker Santa, Kelley pulls it off with her droll humor in both text and illustrations, aided by a memorable canine character—who's not done reforming holiday icons yet. (Picture book. 3-6)"
In this unusual holiday interpretation, Santa is a young and callow fellow who doesn't really care about getting the job done on Christmas Eve. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE EMILY SONNETS by Jane Yolen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 15, 2012

"Overall, though, these poems, illustrations and substantial notes combine well to lend a rounded portrait of this American poet every young reader needs to discover. (Picture book/poetry. 10-14)"
A sonnet sequence encapsulates the biography of one of America's most intriguing poets, Emily Dickinson. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TWELVE TERRIBLE THINGS by Marty Kelley
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2008

"Turns the terrible into the terrific. (Picture book. 5-9)"
"I'm warning you. If you turn the page, you are going to see some terrible things." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: March 1, 1992

"No lugubriousness or false cheerfulness here, but acute observations and astute advice on a difficult topic."
Impressive insights into the experience of dying, offered by two hospice nurses with a gift for listening. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLABBER MOUSE by Y Kelley
by Y Kelley, illustrated by Y Kelley
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2001

"While the intent is good, this lesson misses its mark. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Jokes, poetry, secrets, rumors—Blabber Mouse just can't stop talking. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALMOST EVERYBODY FARTS by Marty Kelley
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 4, 2017

"A playful, punchy paean to the pervasive poot. (Picture book. 3-7)"
What's that smell? Oh how rude! But everybody does it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PLEASE PLEASE THE BEES by Gerald Kelley
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 11, 2017

"This indeed should please the bees! (Picture book. 4-8)"
From his morning toast with honey to a last cup of tea with honey at bedtime, Benedict's fondness for the sticky stuff defines just about everything he does. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE AWAKENING  by Kelley Armstrong
FANTASY
Released: May 1, 2009

"Dark alleys, undead bodies and bountiful blood will cause shivers, while Chloe's chemistry with both boys will raise readers' pulses. (Supernatural thriller. 12 & up)"
A small group of supernatural teens escapes The Edison House, a malevolent scientific organization bent on their destruction, and embarks on a desperate journey to find the one man who might help them. Read full book review >