Search Results: "Janet A. Holmes"


BOOK REVIEW

BLUE SKY, YELLOW KITE by Janet A.  Holmes
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 15, 2017

"Conscience wins out, in the end, as does the willingness to forgive that waging peace requires. (Picture book. 6-9)"
A neighbor's soaring, swooping fish kite touches off a sharp conflict between desire and conscience in a young girl. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ME AND YOU by Janet A.  Holmes
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2009

"A perfectly lighthearted gesture of a tale that illustrates—with charm and subtlety—a child's pride in his or her accomplishments, mutual appreciation of different abilities and the power of friendship and acceptance. (Picture book. 2-5)"
There are many things this bunny is proud to be able to do—sit still, jump, somersault, ride a bike, make sand castles and dig holes, for a start. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANANSI AND THE TALKING MELON by Eric A. Kimmel
ANIMALS
Released: March 15, 1994

"Good-spirited tomfoolery, with storytelling that reels along with the ease of a seasoned prankster. (Picture book. 4-8)"
For the third time, Kimmel (Anansi and the Moss-Covered Rock; Anansi Goes Fishing) lightly treads the path of the trickster spider. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANANSI GOES FISHING by Eric A. Kimmel
ANIMALS
Released: April 15, 1992

"Sure to delight the picture book crowd. (Folklore/Picture book. 4-10)"
In what the author describes on the jacket as ``a variation of a [West African] tale found in Joyce Cooper Arkhurst's The Adventures of Spider,'' the spider trickster is roundly tricked by his friend Turtle. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANANSI AND THE MAGIC STICK by Eric A. Kimmel
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 15, 2001

"Let's hope not—his stories are too amusing. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Anansi the Trickster meets the Sorcerer's Apprentice in this story loosely based on a Liberian folktale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TRACKTOWN SUMMER by Elizabeth Holmes
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2009

"Good, solid and real. (Fiction. 10-14)"
The seven houses that make up Tracktown are sandwiched between railroad tracks and a lake. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"An earnest but uneven treatise that encourages informed choices by those facing intense pressure to have children."
A nonfiction work that aims to shed light on the real difficulties of motherhood and redefine it as just one path among many. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 2016

"An entertaining and extremely helpful resource for parents trying to find their balance in hectic circumstances."
A guide aimed at helping parents take care of their families by first taking care of themselves. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 27, 2009

"Careful science meets good writing—a pleasure for fans of Lewis Thomas, Natalie Angier and other interpreters of scientific fact."
A pellucid spin through the contours of the human brain and the folds of the human body. Read full book review >