Search Results: "Janet Street"


BOOK REVIEW

ONE DAY, TWO DRAGONS by Lynne Bertrand
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 1992

"Not as accomplished as Peter Sis's Going Up (1989), but in the same useful vein. (Picture book. 4-8)"
``One day, two dragons caught a cab to Three Bug Street...to get four vaccinations...for measles, mumps, scale rot, and morning breath'' begins this amiable counting-cum-shots-aren't- so-bad book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DRAGON NAPS by Lynne Bertrand
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: March 1, 1996

"The book includes a counting lesson, of course, but it succeeds primarily as entertainment for other reluctant nappers. (Picture book. 3-8)"
From the team behind One Day, Two Dragons (1992), a jolly nap time book that begins ``ONE day, TWO dragons' mothers said these THREE words: `Time for naps.' '' They are forced upstairs to bed, while all kinds of wonderful things are going on. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RAINING CATS AND DOGS by Jane Yolen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 1993

"A pleasure. (Poetry/Picture book. 4-10)"
It's hard to know which end's up when it's "raining cats and dogs." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PLANET JANET by Dyan Sheldon
FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 2003

"But it will certainly find an audience. (Fiction. 12+)"
An utterly self-absorbed British teen scrivens her frustrations with the rest of the world in her slang-filled diary, all the while blissfully ignorant of the real chaos around her. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JANET RENO by Paul Anderson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 24, 1994

"A solid introduction to an American original, written with journalistic verve."
A lively, balanced portrait of the nation's first woman attorney general, by a Miami Herald reporter. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMAL FARE by Jane Yolen
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 1994

"As she did for Yolen's Raining Cats and Dogs (1993), Street provides pen-and-watercolor spreads in bright, airy colors; her raffish visualizations of such useful concoctions as the 'Giraft' ('periscope necks fore and aft') and the 'Hippopotanoose' are a hoot. (Poetry/Picture book. 4-8)"
In the tradition of Lear, Carroll, and Seuss, pure nonsense: 16 deftly fashioned rhymes about newly imagined animals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DINOSAUR DRESS UP by Allen L. Sirois
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 22, 1992

"Tall tale or fable, the idea here is slight but developed with amusing logic, while Street's complacently debonair dinosaurs, decked out in garish exaggeration of human attire, are sure to tickle young funny- bones. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Professor Saurus, dinosaur curator at the museum, explains what happened to the ancient giants: they wore clothes, avidly collecting costumes for different activities and competing for the most elegant styles—until they began to quarrel about fashion, tearing each other's garments to shreds and hanging around in their underwear, arguing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ONE LITTLE CHICKADEE by Marilee Robin Burton
FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 1994

"A joyous bedtime counting book. (Fiction/Picture book. 3+)"
Things start quietly in this happy rhyming story, with one little chickadee, alone in a tree. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STREET by Joan Aiken
Released: May 22, 1978

"How the pair wins out and saves the village is unfolded, in brisk lines and ten spoofy-silly musical comedy songs, with more style than you'll find in most plays made for juvenile production; still, kids who go to the trouble of performing the play might wish to be rewarded with more substance."
Once there were magical bulls running through but now there are only trucks speeding down the center of the one-street village called Street, and most of the residents have been crippled in traffic accidents. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2012

"Elucidating, descriptive and full of details to fascinate, if it lacks the artistry of such other flights as Airport, by Byron Barton. (Picture book. 3-7)"
What is it like to fly in a plane? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PLANET JANET IN ORBIT by Dyan Sheldon
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2005

"A glossary of Briticisms at the end helps with the translation. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Summer has finally arrived and Janet is prepared to leave her Dark Phase behind and enjoy her summer, but not if her mother (Mad Cow) has anything to do with it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 1, 2001

"Well-researched, but vulgar and plodding."
Bloated, stumbling account of Janet Auchincloss, her family, and the social world that produced Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis. Read full book review >