Search Results: "Janet Street"


BOOK REVIEW

ANIMAL FARE by Jane Yolen
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 1994

"As she did for Yolen's Raining Cats and Dogs (1993), Street provides pen-and-watercolor spreads in bright, airy colors; her raffish visualizations of such useful concoctions as the 'Giraft' ('periscope necks fore and aft') and the 'Hippopotanoose' are a hoot. (Poetry/Picture book. 4-8)"
In the tradition of Lear, Carroll, and Seuss, pure nonsense: 16 deftly fashioned rhymes about newly imagined animals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ONE LITTLE CHICKADEE by Marilee Robin Burton
FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 1994

"A joyous bedtime counting book. (Fiction/Picture book. 3+)"
Things start quietly in this happy rhyming story, with one little chickadee, alone in a tree. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DRAGON NAPS by Lynne Bertrand
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: March 1, 1996

"The book includes a counting lesson, of course, but it succeeds primarily as entertainment for other reluctant nappers. (Picture book. 3-8)"
From the team behind One Day, Two Dragons (1992), a jolly nap time book that begins ``ONE day, TWO dragons' mothers said these THREE words: `Time for naps.' '' They are forced upstairs to bed, while all kinds of wonderful things are going on. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RAINING CATS AND DOGS by Jane Yolen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 1993

"A pleasure. (Poetry/Picture book. 4-10)"
It's hard to know which end's up when it's "raining cats and dogs." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ONE DAY, TWO DRAGONS by Lynne Bertrand
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 1992

"Not as accomplished as Peter Sis's Going Up (1989), but in the same useful vein. (Picture book. 4-8)"
``One day, two dragons caught a cab to Three Bug Street...to get four vaccinations...for measles, mumps, scale rot, and morning breath'' begins this amiable counting-cum-shots-aren't- so-bad book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DINOSAUR DRESS UP by Allen L. Sirois
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 22, 1992

"Tall tale or fable, the idea here is slight but developed with amusing logic, while Street's complacently debonair dinosaurs, decked out in garish exaggeration of human attire, are sure to tickle young funny- bones. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Professor Saurus, dinosaur curator at the museum, explains what happened to the ancient giants: they wore clothes, avidly collecting costumes for different activities and competing for the most elegant styles—until they began to quarrel about fashion, tearing each other's garments to shreds and hanging around in their underwear, arguing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 1, 1992

"Large, useful glossary of nautical terms. (Nonfiction. 12+)"
Twenty-two classic stories, poems, and reminiscences celebrating the sea's danger and grandeur, anchored by selections as familiar as Matthew Arnold's ``Dover Beach'' and Stephen Crane's ``Open Boat,'' as diverse as Belloc's account of the destruction of the Spanish Armada and Heyerdahl's encounters with sharks while floating across the Pacific on Kon-Tiki, as exciting as Joshua Slocum's solo battle with wind and wave off Cape Horn. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 14, 2014

"Alinder's sympathetic history captures the excitement and energy of determined artists who invigorated and redefined the art of photography."
In the 1930s, daring young artists invented a distinctive style of photography. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Prophase  by M. Street
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: March 20, 2014

"YA fans will enjoy this twist on a well-trodden genre."
A densely plotted fantasy that finds inspiration in both science and magic. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMALS
Released: March 15, 2003

"The cat's pajamas! (Nonfiction. 6-10)"
As the subtitle indicates, this is a compendium of familiar and not-so-familiar sayings that have to do with animals, from "we're off like a herd of turtles" to "the tail end." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOU'RE PULLING MY LEG! by Pat Street
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 15, 2016

"Knee-slappers on every page for tenderfoot readers and writers. (index) (Informational picture book. 6-9)"
From "lamebrain" to "feet of clay," a heaping handful of English idioms, similes, metaphors, and other colorful turns of phrase. Read full book review >