Search Results: "Janice Hamrick"


BOOK REVIEW

DEATH MAKES THE CUT by Janice Hamrick
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 17, 2012

"The cast of characters provides both pleasant entertainment and enough suspects to yield a challenging mystery."
A dedicated teacher returns to class and murder. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEATH RIDES AGAIN  by Janice Hamrick
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 18, 2013

"Jocelyn's third adventure (Death Makes the Cut, 2012, etc.) is a charming combination of humor and romance with a nice little mystery."
Only murder can top a large family gathering for Thanksgiving. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEATH ON TOUR by Janice Hamrick
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 3, 2011

"Hamrick's character-driven debut is a good mystery and a charming travelogue.

"
A high-school teacher's dream vacation becomes an unexpected mystery tour. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLAIRE AND THE WATER WISH by Janice Poon
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2009

"The girls' conflict is horribly banal; coupled with the flimsy mystery and the uninspired art, it makes this a hard sell to even the most dedicated female reader. (craft instructions) (Graphic novel. 9-12)"
Fresh from solving her last crime (Claire and the Bakery Thief, 2008), the bespectacled young sleuth is on the case again. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOING THROUGH THE CHANGE by Janice Daugharty
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 12, 1994

"Often grim, though not without periodic comic relief, Daugharty's pieces explore the vast range and complexity of human experience with fearlessness, honesty, and compassion."
Working in the tradition of Flannery O'Connor and William Faulkner, the author of Dark of the Moon (not reviewed) finds her own, surprisingly fresh perspective. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TIN HORSE by Janice Steinberg
Released: Jan. 29, 2013

"Despite raising provocative questions about twinship, Jewish identity, family roles and betrayal, Steinberg's attempt to combine a heartstring pulling, realistic family saga and film-noirish mystery-solving feels unsatisfying and slightly bipolar."
Suspense writer Steinberg (Death in a City of Mystics, 1998, etc.) folds a missing person mystery into a Jewish multigenerational family history set in Boyle Heights, once a distinctly Jewish neighborhood in Los Angeles. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Smallest of Waves by Janice Coy
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 15, 2015

"A seaside mystery with an appealing heroine, but one that needs more red herrings."
In Coy's (A Table on Kilimanjaro, 2013, etc.) mystery novel, dead seals start washing up on the local beach soon after a young woman's friend disappears.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RATHBONES by Janice Clark
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 6, 2013

"Chicago-based author Clark seduces with her vision and her prose but disappoints with non-epic storytelling."
Drawing on Edgar Allan Poe, Homer and Herman Melville, an ambitious saga of lineage and whaling in which Mercy and Mordecai Rathbone embark on a circular voyage in pursuit of their identities. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOREIGN PARTS by Janice Galloway
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 27, 1995

"A Thelma and Louise without the guns, the adventure, or even the convertible."
From the much-praised Scottish author Galloway (The Trick Is to Keep Breathing, 1994, etc.), an intermittently amusing warts- and-all story of two unmarried Scotswomen on a dreary French holiday, told in brittle flakes of self-consciously modern writing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CITY OF GATES by Janice Elliott
Released: Sept. 15, 1993

"Admirers of Elliott's teasing wit and wisdom will find more here."
English writer Elliott, a necromancer who dangles metaphysical concepts of Time, Love, and the Divine plus other headachy abstractions, sets her latest morality playground in the ancient city of Jerusalem—a cat's cradle of invisible lines ``ever- shifting between faith and non-faith and wrong faith, past and present, fantasy and the impossibility of truth.'' As in Elliott's Dr. Gruber's Daughter (1988), events and characters circle around a boardinghouse—here, that of Eugenia Muna, for whom Time is a loop (Mohammed on his flying fanciful steed was a lovely sight; Proust's diet was irritating; and Freud was on for a brief visit) and who cooks (like Countess Olga in Gruber) awful offal, but she will leave earth's carrion, at the close, to cook a sacred carp, which, it is said, harbors souls. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHISTLE by Janice Daugharty
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 1, 1998

"An ambitious and vivid tale, by an increasingly impressive novelist."
A man fleeing sudden trouble inadvertently sets in motion a series of revelations in a small Georgia town. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Not All Bad Comes to Harm You by Janice Mock
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 27, 2015

"Inspiring, instructive memoir for cancer patients and their loved ones.
"
In this debut memoir developed from her blog, a California attorney shares her transformative journey following a midlife cancer diagnosis. Read full book review >