Search Results: "Janice Repka"


BOOK REVIEW

THE CLUELESS GIRL'S GUIDE TO BEING A GENIUS by Janice Repka
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 18, 2011

"Equal parts silly and endearing, this one will appeal to fans of Wendy Mass and Megan McDonald. (Fiction. 8-12)"
A fantastical and funny story features the unlikeliest of friends. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE STUPENDOUS DODGEBALL FIASCO by Janice Repka
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2004

"Well-meant but not ultimately successful. (Fiction. 10-12)"
Good intentions, a clever premise, and fun facts about circus life can't compensate for a flawed presentation in this anti-bullying message thinly disguised as a middle-grade novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOLDILOCKS by Janice Russell
adapted by Janice Russell, illustrated by Janice Russell
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 1997

"A good, simple edition. (Picture book. 2-4)"
An unembellished retelling of the enduring tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLAIRE AND THE BAKERY THIEF by Janice Poon
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2008

"And while the recipes in the back of the book look yummy, there is a self-righteousness to this sketchily drawn story that will leave a bad taste in the reader's mouth. (Graphic fiction. 8-10)"
In this middle-grade graphic novel, young Claire is distressed to discover that her family is about to move from their home in the city to the all-too-rural town of Bellevale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLAIRE AND THE WATER WISH by Janice Poon
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2009

"The girls' conflict is horribly banal; coupled with the flimsy mystery and the uninspired art, it makes this a hard sell to even the most dedicated female reader. (craft instructions) (Graphic novel. 9-12)"
Fresh from solving her last crime (Claire and the Bakery Thief, 2008), the bespectacled young sleuth is on the case again. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOING THROUGH THE CHANGE by Janice Daugharty
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 12, 1994

"Often grim, though not without periodic comic relief, Daugharty's pieces explore the vast range and complexity of human experience with fearlessness, honesty, and compassion."
Working in the tradition of Flannery O'Connor and William Faulkner, the author of Dark of the Moon (not reviewed) finds her own, surprisingly fresh perspective. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NECESSARY LIES by Janice Daugharty
Released: March 29, 1995

"Problematic, but perhaps a necessary stage in the development of an interesting young writer."
A bleak tale tinged with humor, but sometimes bordering on caricature, of a poor, pregnant girl in the South. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHISTLE by Janice Daugharty
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 1, 1998

"An ambitious and vivid tale, by an increasingly impressive novelist."
A man fleeing sudden trouble inadvertently sets in motion a series of revelations in a small Georgia town. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Not All Bad Comes to Harm You by Janice Mock
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 27, 2015

"Inspiring, instructive memoir for cancer patients and their loved ones.
"
In this debut memoir developed from her blog, a California attorney shares her transformative journey following a midlife cancer diagnosis. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CITY OF GATES by Janice Elliott
Released: Sept. 15, 1993

"Admirers of Elliott's teasing wit and wisdom will find more here."
English writer Elliott, a necromancer who dangles metaphysical concepts of Time, Love, and the Divine plus other headachy abstractions, sets her latest morality playground in the ancient city of Jerusalem—a cat's cradle of invisible lines ``ever- shifting between faith and non-faith and wrong faith, past and present, fantasy and the impossibility of truth.'' As in Elliott's Dr. Gruber's Daughter (1988), events and characters circle around a boardinghouse—here, that of Eugenia Muna, for whom Time is a loop (Mohammed on his flying fanciful steed was a lovely sight; Proust's diet was irritating; and Freud was on for a brief visit) and who cooks (like Countess Olga in Gruber) awful offal, but she will leave earth's carrion, at the close, to cook a sacred carp, which, it is said, harbors souls. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Smallest of Waves by Janice Coy
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 15, 2015

"A seaside mystery with an appealing heroine, but one that needs more red herrings."
In Coy's (A Table on Kilimanjaro, 2013, etc.) mystery novel, dead seals start washing up on the local beach soon after a young woman's friend disappears.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOREIGN PARTS by Janice Galloway
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 27, 1995

"A Thelma and Louise without the guns, the adventure, or even the convertible."
From the much-praised Scottish author Galloway (The Trick Is to Keep Breathing, 1994, etc.), an intermittently amusing warts- and-all story of two unmarried Scotswomen on a dreary French holiday, told in brittle flakes of self-consciously modern writing. Read full book review >