Search Results: "Janni Lee Simner"


BOOK REVIEW

BONES OF FAERIE by Janni Lee Simner
FANTASY
Released: Jan. 27, 2009

"With its dark, sharply imagined world, this will appeal to readers of Holly Black and Cassandra Clare. (Science fiction/fantasy. 12-16)"
Magic in Liza's barren town is verboten due to a disastrous war with Faerie, and those who are magical are thought to be evil. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THIEF EYES by Janni Lee Simner
ADVENTURE
Released: April 27, 2010

"Light, romantic fiction with an engaging fantasy punch. (Fantasy. 12-15)"
When 16-year-old Haley accompanies her geologist father to Iceland, she's determined to discover exactly what happened the previous year when her mother disappeared. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SECRET OF THE THREE TREASURES by Janni Lee Simner
ADVENTURE
Released: June 1, 2006

"Fine fare for recent Cam Jansen and Encyclopedia Brown graduates. (Fiction. 9-11)"
A young adventurer-in-training keeps her wits about her and her eyes on the prize despite an uncooperative mother, snickering classmates and her own clumsiness—for there is Lost Treasure to be found, and more, in her seemingly ordinary Connecticut town. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FAERIE AFTER by Janni Lee Simner
YOUNG ADULT
Released: May 28, 2013

"In a satisfying trilogy conclusion, Liza confronts the conflicts between saving the world and saving her friends in an environment where nobody is willing to let go of the last generation's hatreds. (Fantasy. 12-16)"
With the faerie and mortal lands crumbling away, a teenage girl must work with both worlds if anyone is to survive. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FAERIE WINTER by Janni Lee Simner
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: April 5, 2011

"Graphic descriptions of murdered children push the story older than the reading level of its prose, but that just leaves it as an entertaining if quick adventure for those impatiently awaiting the next, heftier entry by Cassandra Clare or Julie Kagawa. (Fantasy. 12-16)"
In the post-apocalyptic world left after the war between the human realm and Faerie, it's been winter for very long time. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LEE by Tito Perdue
Released: Aug. 15, 1991

"A promising debut."
A first novel that follows an old man, a kind of Old Testament prophet full of books and anger at the age, as he wanders— sometimes violently—through the modern urban world and into his own past. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LEE MARVIN by Dwayne Epstein
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 19, 2013

"A well-paced, thoughtful examination of a singular corpus of work that influenced film portrayals of violence in subsequent decades."
A generous biography of Oscar-winning actor Lee Marvin (1924-1987), best known for his roles in The Dirty Dozen and Point Blank. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CILLA LEE-JENKINS by Susan Tan
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 28, 2017

"In the end, this book is too difficult for most of the 7-year-old readers who would like Cilla and features too young a protagonist to interest 10-year-olds ready for books of this length. (Fiction. 7-10)"
An aspiring author grapples with change in her family. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: Nov. 1, 2005

"Good for Civil War collections. (Nonfiction. 12+)"
Manassas, Antietam, Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville, Gettysburg, Appomattox. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DIFFERENT LEE by Bill Hiatt
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 18, 2016

"A mostly sturdy foundation for a fantasy series that arms its hero with powers, sidekicks, and motivation."
In Hiatt's (The Devil Hath the Power, 2016, etc.) fantasy novel, a Korean-American man discovers long-dormant supernatural abilities and finds that an evil sorcerer wants his blood.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LEE KRASNER by Gail Levin
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 22, 2011

"Levin deftly connects Krasner's biography to the social and political upheaval of the time. Her long experience in the art world gives insight into the landscape of 20th-century artists, art dealers and museums."
First biography of Lee Krasner (1908-1984), Jackson Pollock's wife but also a significant artist in her own right. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LEE & ELAINE by Ann Rower
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 19, 2002

"The upshot: She doesn't have much of a story, and neither do we."
Rower's second, as dismal as its predecessor (Armed Response, 1995), trades the former's West Coast trappings for the Hamptons as the artist/writer narrator tries desperately to turn the dead wives of rival painters William de Kooning and Jackson Pollock into posthumous friends—and straighten out her own life in the bargain. Read full book review >